Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: sepjazzwarrior on February 27, 2011, 09:17:26 PM

Title: 3 questions
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on February 27, 2011, 09:17:26 PM
1) if i draw a hopper LS while i have the FBTN LS in play, is the hopper negated and it goes to my territory?

2) does priestly preastplate work as intended where you can activate in on a priest or does it have to be activated from artifact pile every turn?

3)was there ever an official ruling on if protection from evil cards means you cannot be discarded by the numbers?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 27, 2011, 09:19:45 PM
1.  Yes it stays in your territory.

2.  You can activate it on a Priest and then activate another artifact in your artifact pile, this works like Magic Charms, and other artifacts being activated on fortresses.

3.  I believe you can always be discarded by the numbers, but not sure on this one.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: The M on February 27, 2011, 09:19:49 PM
2. I assume cards work as they are intended with a few special exceptions. coughanbsplitaltarcough ;D
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on February 27, 2011, 09:21:28 PM
1.) Yes
2.) It counts as your artifact activation for the turn
3.) You can be discarded by the numbers.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: TheJaylor on February 27, 2011, 09:24:09 PM
1.) Yes
2.) It counts as your artifact activation for the turn
3.) You can be discarded by the numbers.
I agree with one and two and I think three is correct.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: RTSmaniac on February 27, 2011, 10:16:24 PM
1.  Yes it stays in your territory.

2.  You can activate it on a Priest and then activate another artifact in your artifact pile, this works like Magic Charms, and other artifacts being activated on fortresses. incorrect

3.  I believe you can always be discarded by the numbers, but not sure on this one.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: EmJayBee83 on February 27, 2011, 11:01:51 PM
RTSManiac is correct.  Priestly Breastplate must be activated on the artifact pile (eating up your activation slot there).  Then it can be placed.

There was some discussion a while back as to whether Priestly Breastplate must be reactivated every turn or whether it would stay active while on a Priest. I do not believe this was ever resolved one way or the t'other, however.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: The Guardian on February 28, 2011, 12:52:16 AM
The difference between Breastplate and Charms is that Charms ability to be activated on a Magician is an identifier, whereas Breastplate is a special ability.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Crashfach2002 on February 28, 2011, 12:56:57 PM
Ah!  Duly noted!
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: The M on February 28, 2011, 04:51:54 PM
Why is this stickied?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on February 28, 2011, 06:26:36 PM
Because these questions come up every month or so. Once we add them to the FAQ we'll unsticky this and provide a link to the FAQ in it.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on February 28, 2011, 07:39:53 PM
Are we sure on number three? I thought I remember Gabe saying Thad protects from numbers at the t2 only, but I was so tired I can't be sure.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Gabe on February 28, 2011, 10:17:32 PM
Are we sure on number three? I thought I remember Gabe saying Thad protects from numbers at the t2 only, but I was so tired I can't be sure.

There is not a consensus on whether or not general protection (Thad, Protection of Angels) will protect from losing by the numbers.  Some of the elders, including myself, believe that it does.  Others do not.  Honestly, this is one of the last major things we have to work out for the new REG.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on February 28, 2011, 10:19:09 PM
So that means that you're close?  Also, what do we lowly hosts rule it as?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: RTSmaniac on March 02, 2011, 02:42:22 PM
protect should only protect from special abilities not numbers in my book.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Crashfach2002 on March 02, 2011, 07:01:42 PM
protect should only protect from special abilities not numbers in my book.

+1, Thad is already powerful enough, to say he can't even be discarded would be rediculous.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on March 02, 2011, 07:06:22 PM
So that means that you're close?  Also, what do we lowly hosts rule it as?
You should do whatever you prefer, but announce how that's you would rule it before the tournament.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on March 02, 2011, 07:35:41 PM
So that means that you're close?  Also, what do we lowly hosts rule it as?
You should do whatever you prefer, but announce how that's you would rule it before the tournament.

That kind of inconsistency is problematic. "Protect" is officially defined as "protection from specified special abilities" in the Glossary. No host should rule otherwise until an official announcement from the Elders overrules this.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SirNobody on March 17, 2011, 12:50:39 PM
Hey,

For the record, Bryon and I have been discussing the Thaddeus issue and are currently leaning towards saying he can lose by the numbers.

So that means that you're close?  Also, what do we lowly hosts rule it as?

You could go with the current leaning as stated above.  You could go with what your players expect (if everyone who shows up to the tournament expects it to be ruled one way it doesn't make much sense to rule it the other way).  Or you could go with whatever argument makes the most sense to you personally.  The most important thing is to make it clear to your players before the tournament starts which way you will be ruling.

Tschow,

Tim "Sir Nobody" Maly

Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on May 25, 2011, 05:02:13 PM
have we come up with a final ruling on these questions?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: TheJaylor on June 01, 2011, 09:58:20 PM
1.) Still a yes.
2.) Counts as your activation for the turn and unsure if you have to activate it every turn.
3.) Most-likely yes but could be ruled differently if people at the tournament have the opposite idea and it's being debated in the REG.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Bryon on June 09, 2011, 10:32:45 AM
"Protect" is officially defined as "protection from specified special abilities" in the Glossary. No host should rule otherwise until an official announcement from the Elders overrules this.
The Glossary is outdated.  Count this part as official: the above should read:

"protection from specified effects"

If protect only protects from special abilities, then how do you "protect a lost soul from rescue by a hero"?  Would that only protect against Primary Objective?  Clearly, it protects against the rescue effect that heroes are credited for when they win a rescue attempt.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 09, 2011, 12:53:56 PM
So protection of angels and thaddeus protect against numbers?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 09, 2011, 02:52:35 PM
Given the above, yes.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 09, 2011, 04:40:45 PM
"Protect" is officially defined as "protection from specified special abilities" in the Glossary. No host should rule otherwise until an official announcement from the Elders overrules this.
The Glossary is outdated.  Count this part as official: the above should read:

"protection from specified effects"

What are the "specified" effects, then?

I realize that this is too much to ask, but when can we expect to have any official documents that are not outdated? All I ever hear people say is to "check the boards." That's not good enough anymore. I spend too much time online as it is. I have a wife and kids that need my time, as well as my job(s). If the expectation is that hosts will have to be constantly online to know the rules and exceptions, then hosting just may no longer be for me.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: EmJayBee83 on June 09, 2011, 05:06:56 PM
If the expectation is that hosts will have to be constantly online to know the rules and exceptions, then hosting just may no longer be for me.
Been there; said that.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 09, 2011, 05:34:20 PM
I'd love to have an "on call" Elder, and not hold a game while we wait for someone to respond to a post.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 09, 2011, 06:45:14 PM
If the expectation is that hosts will have to be constantly online to know the rules and exceptions, then hosting just may no longer be for me.
Been there; said that.

I know that you have, and I did not disagree with you back then. However, I held out hope that REG changes were imminent, regardless of the jokes I cracked otherwise. But now the humor has faded and I share your fatigue with the current system. From this point on, I will echo your sentiments.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Bryon on June 12, 2011, 11:13:10 AM
"Protect" is officially defined as "protection from specified special abilities" in the Glossary. No host should rule otherwise until an official announcement from the Elders overrules this.
The Glossary is outdated.  Count this part as official: the above should read:

"protection from specified effects"

What are the "specified" effects, then?
The effects specified on the card with the protect ability. 

If it says "protected from capture" then it protects from all capture effects (in this case, all such effects are special abilities).
   
If it says "protected from discard" then it protects from all discard effects (from special abilities OR from discard effects of game rules such as zero toughness, losing by numbers, etc.). 

If it says "Protected from evil cards" then it protects from all effects of evil cards (from special abilities OR other effects of those evil cards, such as if one wins by numbers.)

If it says "protected from rescue by heroes" then it protects them from all rescue effects heroes can give (from rescue special abilities on enhancements like Primary Objective, and from rescue effects that heroes give by game rule when they win a rescue attempt).
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on June 12, 2011, 01:53:15 PM
then how is protection different from immunity?  If protection protects your from being killed by the numbers, what is the different between th two now?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: lp670sv on June 12, 2011, 02:04:12 PM
at a certain point it just becomes easier to make thad illegal.......
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 12, 2011, 02:42:38 PM
Immunity is specific to characters.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on June 13, 2011, 12:54:17 AM
Also, immune characters can be targeted. While this usually doesn't matter, if you use Zeal with Mechizedek and the only 3 characters in play are your opponent's Grey EC, your opponent's Black EC in battle holding Goliath's Armor, and your Black EC, you could target the Grey EC and the one with Goliath's Armor. Zeal simple wouldn't do anything to the latter. If, however, the only three EC's in play are your opponent's Grey EC in battle, his Assyrian in territory with Camp, and your Pale Green EC, you'd have to target the one in battle and your own.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on June 13, 2011, 10:01:59 AM
If it says "Protected from evil cards" then it protects from all effects of evil cards (from special abilities OR other effects of those evil cards, such as if one wins by numbers.)

So... Thadd cannot be killed by numbers?

If that's true, then I'm disappointed with this ruling.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 13, 2011, 03:42:05 PM
If it says "Protected from evil cards" then it protects from all effects of evil cards (from special abilities OR other effects of those evil cards, such as if one wins by numbers.)

So... Thadd cannot be killed by numbers?

If that's true, then I'm disappointed with this ruling.

Protection of Angels would also have the same result.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Korunks on June 14, 2011, 09:17:40 AM
I need to know if this is the final ruling, there are several very important tournaments coming up.  If I end up judging I need to know how to rule this.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 14, 2011, 12:13:37 PM
"Protect" is officially defined as "protection from specified special abilities" in the Glossary. No host should rule otherwise until an official announcement from the Elders overrules this.
The Glossary is outdated.  Count this part as official: the above should read:

"protection from specified effects"

What are the "specified" effects, then?
The effects specified on the card with the protect ability. 

If it says "protected from capture" then it protects from all capture effects (in this case, all such effects are special abilities).
   
If it says "protected from discard" then it protects from all discard effects (from special abilities OR from discard effects of game rules such as zero toughness, losing by numbers, etc.). 

If it says "Protected from evil cards" then it protects from all effects of evil cards (from special abilities OR other effects of those evil cards, such as if one wins by numbers.)

If it says "protected from rescue by heroes" then it protects them from all rescue effects heroes can give (from rescue special abilities on enhancements like Primary Objective, and from rescue effects that heroes give by game rule when they win a rescue attempt).


This'd be the ruling.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Korunks on June 14, 2011, 12:28:02 PM
But that doesn't answer the question for Thaddeus, or Protection of Angels.

Thaddeus (Di)

Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 8 / 8 • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect all cards in play, set-aside area, Artifact piles, hands, and decks from Evil Characters with toughness X or less. Cannot be interrupted.

Protection of Angels (Pi)

Type: Hero Enh. • Brigade: Silver • Ability: 2 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Interrupt the battle and protect all Heroes in play and set aside areas from evil cards until end of turn. • Play As: Interrupt the battle and protect all Heroes in play and set aside areas from evil special abilities until end of turn.


The way I read the ruling then, is that Thaddeus CAN be discarded by the numbers, because the evil character is not doing the discarding, A game rule is.  The game rule is effecting Thaddeus, not the Evil Character.  Likewise for Protection of angels, although I am not sure where that play as came from.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Gabe on June 14, 2011, 12:40:54 PM
The way I read the ruling then, is that Thaddeus CAN be discarded by the numbers, because the evil character is not doing the discarding, A game rule is.  The game rule is effecting Thaddeus, not the Evil Character.  Likewise for Protection of angels, although I am not sure where that play as came from.

Then until an official ruling is announced you should rule that way at your tournament(s). Let your players know in advance that is how you will be ruling so nobody is caught by surprise during a game.

This question is being discussed by the elders and Rob but it's not as quick and simple as it might appear to some. We will let you know when we come to an official decision.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Bryon on June 14, 2011, 12:49:06 PM
The way I read the ruling then, is that Thaddeus CAN be discarded by the numbers, because the evil character is not doing the discarding, A game rule is.  The game rule is effecting Thaddeus, not the Evil Character.  Likewise for Protection of angels, although I am not sure where that play as came from.
If you rule that way at your tournament, then be prepared to say that Belshazzar's Banquet doesn't protect lost souls from rescue by a hero, since the lost souls are only rescued by a game rule, and not by a hero.  Also, be prepared to rule that High Priests' Palace does not protect Sadducees from discard by decrease by Crown of Thorns, since the Sadducee is discarded by game rule, and not by a discard ability.

Or, maybe you should just rule that "protect" includes protecting from the effects of game rules.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on June 14, 2011, 01:26:23 PM
Regarding protection and discard by numbers, I've always played that only "protected from discard" would stop death by numbers...
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: WesterForever on June 14, 2011, 01:42:48 PM
If Thaddeus cannot be discarded by an Evil Character's "specified effect", doesn't that mean that an enhancement card would be able to discard him since it's not a evil character and has its own effect?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Korunks on June 14, 2011, 01:43:54 PM
The way I read the ruling then, is that Thaddeus CAN be discarded by the numbers, because the evil character is not doing the discarding, A game rule is.  The game rule is effecting Thaddeus, not the Evil Character.  Likewise for Protection of angels, although I am not sure where that play as came from.
If you rule that way at your tournament, then be prepared to say that Belshazzar's Banquet doesn't protect lost souls from rescue by a hero, since the lost souls are only rescued by a game rule, and not by a hero.  Also, be prepared to rule that High Priests' Palace does not protect Sadducees from discard by decrease by Crown of Thorns, since the Sadducee is discarded by game rule, and not by a discard ability.

Or, maybe you should just rule that "protect" includes protecting from the effects of game rules.

So I should rule that Thaddeus protects from discard by numbers?  I guess if I didn't then I would have to rule the other cards the way you described to be consistent.  I just have a hard time ruling that Thaddeus can not be killed by the numbers, since he does not specifically state that he is protected from Discard.  I don't see how the High Priest's Palace ruling fits into this since that ruling has little to do with the source of the discard, it seemed more concerned with the scope of the protect.  This issue I believe has to do with source of the effect, and I guess it all comes down to what is the source of an effect in Redemption?  For cards like Belshazzar's Banquet the Game Rule that rescue's the Lost Soul is triggered by a hero winning the battle and BB stops that, so I guess it makes sense to say that if an evil character wins the battle then the game rule performing the discard was triggered by the evil character and Thaddeus would stop that as well.  I guess in retrospect I agree, Thaddeus has to protect from discard by the numbers, or we need to change rulings on other protect cards to be consistent.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Bryon on June 14, 2011, 03:16:43 PM
You are correct that the heart of the issue seems to be the source of the effects. 

That is under debate by playtesters right now.

I've always understood that an enhancement used by a character is credited as the character performing that action.  For example, if Lot's Wife uses Net, then she gets credit for the capture for purposes of Raiders' Camp.  If I am protected from the character, then I am protected from anything done by that character.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 14, 2011, 04:34:30 PM
You are correct that the heart of the issue seems to be the source of the effects. 

That is under debate by playtesters right now.

I've always understood that an enhancement used by a character is credited as the character performing that action.  For example, if Lot's Wife uses Net, then she gets credit for the capture for purposes of Raiders' Camp.  If I am protected from the character, then I am protected from anything done by that character.
That's always how immunity has worked as well.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 14, 2011, 05:16:16 PM
You are correct that the heart of the issue seems to be the source of the effects. 

That is under debate by playtesters right now.

I've always understood that an enhancement used by a character is credited as the character performing that action.  For example, if Lot's Wife uses Net, then she gets credit for the capture for purposes of Raiders' Camp.  If I am protected from the character, then I am protected from anything done by that character.

Wait, does this mean that your ruling is not official?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Alex_Olijar on June 14, 2011, 05:18:34 PM
Can we just ban Thaddeus? That's so much easier to explain.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 14, 2011, 06:12:28 PM
Can we just ban Thaddeus? That's so much easier to explain.
Then how are we noobs supposed to compete?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Lamborghini_diablo on June 14, 2011, 06:44:34 PM
They could always just use TGT.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Smokey on June 14, 2011, 08:36:36 PM
You are correct that the heart of the issue seems to be the source of the effects. 

That is under debate by playtesters right now.

I've always understood that an enhancement used by a character is credited as the character performing that action.  For example, if Lot's Wife uses Net, then she gets credit for the capture for purposes of Raiders' Camp.  If I am protected from the character, then I am protected from anything done by that character.

Isn't the definition you provided for protect simmilar to the default to in play rule?
Thadd protects from evil characters, and his protection defaults to only ecs since he doesn't specify otherwise.
Protection of angels would protect from both since it says evil cards.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: YourMathTeacher on June 14, 2011, 09:20:55 PM
Out of curiosity, why does my region say "East Central?"
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on June 14, 2011, 09:25:11 PM
Its a setting you can change in your profile, the base option is set to East Central.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Prof Underwood on June 14, 2011, 11:18:51 PM
the base option is set to East Central.
Because we're so welcoming to everyone regardless of where they really live :)
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on June 15, 2011, 01:53:35 AM
could we at least eratta thaddues so that his ability wasn't "cannot be interrupted"? that would at least give people a chance to kill him
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: TheHobbit13 on June 16, 2011, 07:56:05 PM
They really can't do that mid tournament season.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on June 16, 2011, 10:46:26 PM
They really can't do that mid tournament season.
Yeah, usually it's either Rob's way (no banning) or the Highway.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: sepjazzwarrior on July 04, 2011, 08:33:10 PM
could we get this un-stickeyed? most all of the questions asked have been answered
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 08:36:20 PM
I think that's the point. They stickied this thread because it has questions and answers to things people consistently ask frequently. That way people will hopefully read this and see the answer before posting a thread with the same question(s).
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 04, 2011, 08:47:42 PM
If that's the case, then edit the first post so that the subject is "Frequently Asked Questions."
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: browarod on July 04, 2011, 08:55:24 PM
If that's the case, then edit the first post so that the subject is "Frequently Asked Questions."
I would if I could but I can't so I shan't.
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: megamanlan on December 14, 2011, 03:10:32 AM
I thought that the current consensus is that Just place on a Character (like Charms and Iron Pan) are automatically noted as identifiers, since that wasn't put into the Identifer until TeXP. The same w/ 2 & 3-liners. They're Abilites are actually Identifers and would have no effect if reprinted today. Wouldn't that be the same w/ Priestly Breastplate?
Title: Re: 3 questions
Post by: SomeKittens on December 14, 2011, 09:08:34 AM
I thought that the current consensus is that Just place on a Character (like Charms and Iron Pan) are automatically noted as identifiers, since that wasn't put into the Identifer until TeXP. The same w/ 2 & 3-liners. They're Abilites are actually Identifers and would have no effect if reprinted today.I can absolutely guaranteed you they'd have a special ability. Wouldn't that be the same w/ Priestly Breastplate?Nope.  Do you have an Elder/REG quote that says otherwise?
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal