Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 12:08:52 PM

Title: 2-liner question
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 12:08:52 PM
I have a two liner and my opponent rescues it.  There is one counter on it.  It is echanged and then the opposing player attempts a rescue and is given the other counter....does it split down the middle or what? 
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: BubbleBoy on March 24, 2010, 12:17:23 PM
I have a two liner and my opponent rescues it.  There is one counter on it.  It is echanged and then the opposing player attempts a rescue and is given the other counter....does it split down the middle or what? 
Physically, you can put it wherever you want. For game purposes, I believe it is considered to be in both your LoR's at the same time.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on March 24, 2010, 12:32:46 PM
I have a two liner and my opponent rescues it.  There is one counter on it.  It is echanged and then the opposing player attempts a rescue and is given the other counter....does it split down the middle or what? 
Physically, you can put it wherever you want. For game purposes, I believe it is considered to be in both your LoR's at the same time.
Correct, you each have one half.  Also, if one person has GoYS, both halves are protected because as BB said, it is in both LoRs at the same time.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Tracer Burnout on March 24, 2010, 01:03:04 PM
I can't believe that this has never come up in 6 months of play
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Minister Polarius on March 24, 2010, 02:25:45 PM
I believe this information is slightly incorrect.

Whoever rescued the second half gets it in his LoR. Even if the other person has GoyS, if he does not, it can fall away.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: sk on March 24, 2010, 02:51:03 PM
No, Cameron is correct.  Otherwise, the person who rescued the first part wouldn't get credit for the rescue, as you only get credit for the rescue if it goes to your LoR.  (REG Entry on Winning the Game (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/default.htm?turl=winningthegame.htm))

The 2-liner goes to both LoRs, and a GoYS in either one would protect it.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Cousin It on March 24, 2010, 02:54:14 PM
No, Cameron is correct.  Otherwise, the person who rescued the first part wouldn't get credit for the rescue, as you only get credit for the rescue if it goes to your LoR.  (REG Entry on Winning the Game (http://www.redemptionreg.com/REG/winningthegame.htm))

The 2-liner goes to both LoRs, and a GoYS in either one would protect it.

But of course this entry also says you get credit for 6 if you use SoG/NJ at 4.   ::)

I had heard that they changed the rule to make it so that all Lost Souls cards, 2- or 3-liners, could only be rescued the second time by the same player who rescued the first half.  Is this incorrect?
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: sk on March 24, 2010, 03:01:26 PM
The 'only 5' rule is pretty new, and was made after the current REG began to be left as-is.  It's just clarification lingo that can be ignored.

I had heard that they changed the rule to make it so that all Lost Souls cards, 2- or 3-liners, could only be rescued the second time by the same player who rescued the first half.  Is this incorrect?

I think so... I never heard such a ruing.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Cameron the Conqueror on March 24, 2010, 03:02:04 PM
Quote
But of course this entry also says you get credit for 6 if you use SoG/NJ at 4.   
That is true, the max score is 5 for T1 and 7 for T2

Quote
I had heard that they changed the rule to make it so that all Lost Souls cards, 2- or 3-liners, could only be rescued the second time by the same player who rescued the first half.  Is this incorrect?
That is not correct.  The 2-liner is unrestricted; the 3-liner can only be rescued by the same person.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Cousin It on March 24, 2010, 03:03:39 PM
Quote
I had heard that they changed the rule to make it so that all Lost Souls cards, 2- or 3-liners, could only be rescued the second time by the same player who rescued the first half.  Is this incorrect?
That is not correct.  The 2-liner is unrestricted; the 3-liner can only be rescued by the same person.

Well, that's what I get for listening to CountFount.   ::)
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: crustpope on March 24, 2010, 04:02:23 PM
The 2-liner goes to both LoRs, and a GoYS in either one would protect it.

Correct, But it only goes there after the second rescue.  It does not count as a redeemed lost soul until it has been rescued twice either by the same person or by another person.  and a Goys in Any LoR protects both from falling away.
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Prof Underwood on March 24, 2010, 05:13:33 PM
Just to throw in my support.

The 2-liner or 3-liner being split by 2 players is protected from FA by EITHER player's GOYS.
The 2-liner can still be split between 2 players.  The 3-liner still can't.
The max game LS score switch to being 5 (for T1) is still relatively recent and is awesome.
The REG is so out of date it is funny, but the new REG is coming :)
Title: Re: 2-liner question
Post by: Red Dragon Thorn on March 24, 2010, 07:18:12 PM
The REG is so out of date it is funny, but the new REG is coming :)

Releasing in special bonus package with DNF
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal