Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Topic started by: pinkfloyd on September 23, 2020, 05:09:13 PM

Title: David God's King
Post by: pinkfloyd on September 23, 2020, 05:09:13 PM
The starred text reads that David gains green, red, or white.  When does the player have to declare which color of those three David will get?  When he is first placed on the board?  When an enhancement is first placed upon him?
Title: Re: David God's King
Post by: 777Godspeed on September 23, 2020, 06:51:57 PM
David, God's King - SA - (Star) Play David. David may gain green, red or white. (Hero) Ignore evil royalty. Protect David from the next evil Enhancement played.

This is from the REG - Glossary of Terms - Star Icon
A star icon (represented by the Star of David) is present in the special ability box on some
cards and denotes the star ability of that card. If a card is drawn by game rule (in the opening
hand or the draw 3 at the start of a turn), after replacing any Lost Souls, you may choose to
activate any star abilities on cards from that draw by revealing the star cards you wish to use
and carry out the star abilities in the order you choose. Star abilities happen before activating
the Lost Soul abilities from that draw.

Star abilities can target the card they are on in the location the star ability was activated as
well as the default location for any effect of the star ability.

If a card with a star ability has a unity condition, the unity condition does not apply to the star
ability.



Godspeed,
Mike

Title: Re: David God's King
Post by: pinkfloyd on September 23, 2020, 07:07:42 PM
So, just to be sure I know what to do,  if I draw Dave, I can play him and the star ability would take place immediately, so I WOULD have to choose what he gains as soon as I reveal.  Right?
Title: Re: David God's King
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 23, 2020, 08:36:10 PM
Yes. And you can only use the star ability if you draw him by game rule (opening 8 or draw 3 each turn), as opposed to by an ability.