Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Topic started by: pinkfloyd on September 08, 2020, 01:24:53 AM

Title: Can a good card negate a good card? Specifically...
Post by: pinkfloyd on September 08, 2020, 01:24:53 AM
My opponent has one Lost Soul, and she has it under the multi-colored Goshen site.  I have no sites to use to access the lost soul.  But, I have the dual icon Behemoth, which I use as a blue good enhancement on a blue hero.  The first sentence on Behemoth reads "negate an opponent's card."  Can I negate Goshen, giving me access to the lost soul inside?
Title: Re: Can a good card negate a good card? Specifically...
Post by: pinkfloyd on September 08, 2020, 01:33:23 AM
I have since learned that Goshen is now a fortification and can't hide a Lost Soul.   Still, I would like to know if I COULD negate a similar card, one that is a good multi-colored site belonging to my opponent, with my good enhancement (Behemoth)?
Title: Re: Can a good card negate a good card? Specifically...
Post by: RedemptionAggie on September 08, 2020, 01:41:33 AM
Yes, good cards can negate good cards. However, Sites are always neutral, despite using the good brigades, but they can also be negated by good cards.

There are no special targeting rules for negate - if it fits the criteria in the ability (in Behemoth's case, "opponent's card"), it can be targeted by the negate.

Also, negating a Site doesn't remove the LS - the ability to hold a LS is part of the nature of the Site and isn't something that's negateable.

Finally, Sites are always accessible by any Hero of the same brigade as the Site, so every Hero would have access to Goshen if it was a Site. The Rainbow (full multi-color) Sites (Ends of the Earth, New Jerusalem, etc.) are primarily used to give access to other Sites (or for their abilities) rather than holding LS, as they don't limit who can rescue the LS.