Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Official Rules & Errata => Topic started by: pinkfloyd on September 02, 2020, 05:36:11 PM

Title: Banding
Post by: pinkfloyd on September 02, 2020, 05:36:11 PM
This seems so simple, I hesitate to ask, but it has me confused so I'll ask anyway.  I have Soldier of God, Paladin, and Christian Soldier in my hand.  It's my turn.  Soldier of God "May band to St. of Virtue, Christian Soldier, and/or Paladin.  I want to get all 3 of them up there in the battle, banded.  Can I present Soldier of God, then bring up Paladin and Christian Soldier on future turns?  Or does it work the other way--Soldier of God bands to THEM, and one of those other two have to be in the battle before I can add Soldier of God  to the fight, via banding?  If the second situation is correct, it looks like I can't get all 3 of them banded into a battle without help from other card(s).
Title: Re: Banding
Post by: ArmedKevin117 on September 02, 2020, 06:34:37 PM
Band abilities on characters activate at the moment the character enters battle.  The character with the ability enters first, then immediately either does or doesn't bring in the characters they band to.

In your example, Soldier enters battle.  His ability activates, and at that moment you may bring in any combination of his targets (note that characters whose band abilities only say "or" limit you to a single banded character).  If you chose not to, you cannot do so later in the battle (unless another card lets you).
Title: Re: Banding
Post by: pinkfloyd on September 02, 2020, 06:42:19 PM
Thanks very much!