Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: Daniel TS RED on October 10, 2010, 11:57:35 AM

Title: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Daniel TS RED on October 10, 2010, 11:57:35 AM
Type: Fortress • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: At any time, you may discard the bottom card of deck. If it is an orange demon or a Lost Soul, place it in your territory instead. You may discard this card to add your demon to the battle. • Play As: At any time, you may discard the bottom card of deck. If it is an orange demon or a Lost Soul, place it in your territory instead. You may discard this card to add to battle your demon. • Identifiers: Play to set-aside area. • Verse: Matthew 16:18 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

Can this be used like Unknown Nation.  Can you discard TGoH at anytime to add one of your demons to battle? 

Daniel

 ;D
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 10, 2010, 12:00:36 PM
Assuming you are on the blocking end of that battle, yes.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: CJSports on October 10, 2010, 01:44:33 PM
Combo

Wandering spirit and fallen angel and prince. They use something like reach Aoc or words child they go to bottom pull them back out discard gates put same chain in battle. whoo-hoo
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 10, 2010, 01:51:36 PM
Doesn't work.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: browarod on October 10, 2010, 01:55:46 PM
Doesn't work.
It doesn't? Having been returned to deck, their "in battle this turn" status would have been reset, so I'm having trouble thinking of why it still wouldn't work.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Minister Polarius on October 10, 2010, 02:02:53 PM
Ah, good point. But idk if that refers to the specific card or an instance of the card with the same name.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 10, 2010, 02:07:24 PM
Unique characters still won't be able to enter again. There was a discussion about generic that I don't remember the outcome of. Either way, it will be regarding the same name, beings even if we know its the exact same card at the bottom, the game doesn't know.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: browarod on October 10, 2010, 02:22:49 PM
Hm, okay. Never thought about it being the name and not the card, lol.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: CJSports on October 10, 2010, 09:19:44 PM
Wandering spirits ability lets them go to the bottom of deck, then gates says "AT ANY TIME" you may discard bottom card of deck so they go to territory. Then d/c gates to add WS who's special ability reactivates because he left play.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 10, 2010, 09:20:45 PM
We're not arguing that point bud.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: CJSports on October 10, 2010, 09:23:38 PM
then I'm confused on why pol is saying it doesn't work.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 10, 2010, 10:29:44 PM
Unique characters can't enter battle twice during the same turn. I'm not sure about generic characters.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: lightningninja on October 10, 2010, 11:08:50 PM
I think generic characters can.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Professoralstad on October 10, 2010, 11:40:07 PM
I think generic characters can.

Chris Bany ruled at a tourney this summer that the same copy of a generic character cannot enter battle. So you cannot add a WS to battle after he has been sent to bottom and returned via gates. However, a different copy of a generic character is legal. I think in the case of a generic human and Unknown Nation, where the first copy was shuffled, you would have to prove you have at least one more copy available.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: browarod on October 10, 2010, 11:55:08 PM
So, characters don't fully reset when sent to hand, deck, discard? Because I would have thought "entered battle status" would be included in the things that reset (it doesn't really make sense to me that it doesn't). I understand the unique part of the rule, but the generics should still be able to :S.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Warrior_Monk on October 11, 2010, 12:28:59 AM
Generics should not be able to. Although I don't remember my combo that I had been planning when I found out that they couldn't. Something to do with Assyrian Archer + Horses + Obedience of Noah + Long Day + Jubilee + Stillness.
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Cpt.Jaeger on October 14, 2010, 01:28:54 PM
I think generic characters can.

Chris Bany ruled at a tourney this summer that the same copy of a generic character cannot enter battle. So you cannot add a WS to battle after he has been sent to bottom and returned via gates. However, a different copy of a generic character is legal. I think in the case of a generic human and Unknown Nation, where the first copy was shuffled, you would have to prove you have at least one more copy available.

so it works as long as you have another non-drawn version in your deck?
Title: Re: The Gates of Hell Question
Post by: Warrior_Monk on October 15, 2010, 12:41:21 AM
I think generic characters can.

Chris Bany ruled at a tourney this summer that the same copy of a generic character cannot enter battle. So you cannot add a WS to battle after he has been sent to bottom and returned via gates. However, a different copy of a generic character is legal. I think in the case of a generic human and Unknown Nation, where the first copy was shuffled, you would have to prove you have at least one more copy available.

so it works as long as you have another non-drawn version in your deck?
No, it only works as long as the non-drawn version is the one you're using. the same card cannot enter battle twice.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal