Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: The Big Ape on July 06, 2009, 04:46:46 PM

Title: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Big Ape on July 06, 2009, 04:46:46 PM
Hello
I was wondering if I have my hero in a site dose it count as an occupied site?

Like if you use the site card that stops dragon raid from entering battle(sorry i don't remember what it is called)  with a hero.
Will the SA from the site that stops dragon raid activate?
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: sk on July 06, 2009, 04:52:56 PM
If your hero is being treated as a lost soul (via a capture ability), yes.  That is the only way a hero can be put into a site.
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Big Ape on July 07, 2009, 09:59:42 AM
Can't I put a hero in a site to gain access to my opponents site?
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: sk on July 07, 2009, 10:07:00 AM
Not quite.  When you put your hero into battle, you can also put an unoccupied site into battle to give the heroes in battle access to certain brigade sites.  The hero doesn't go into the site, however.
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: Prof Underwood on July 07, 2009, 10:07:27 AM
You actually just bring the site into battle with the hero, it doesn't "go inside" really.

However, your question brings up another question for me.  Sometimes Evil Characters are placed in sites (guards, placer LS, etc.)  Would these sites be considered occupied?
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Big Ape on July 07, 2009, 10:10:56 AM
Not quite.  When you put your hero into battle, you can also put an unoccupied site into battle to give the heroes in battle access to certain brigade sites.  The hero doesn't go into the site, however.

But the site stays with the hero till he is discarded right?
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: Professoralstad on July 07, 2009, 10:19:38 AM
You actually just bring the site into battle with the hero, it doesn't "go inside" really.

However, your question brings up another question for me.  Sometimes Evil Characters are placed in sites (guards, placer LS, etc.)  Would these sites be considered occupied?

The REG defines occupied as:

Quote from: REG
Occupied
A site that holds a Lost Soul is considered occu­pied. A site remains occupied until the Lost Soul is rescued, discarded, or removed by a special ability.

So I would say the strict definition of occupied is when the site has a Lost Soul. Just another example of how Redemption terminology =/= English terminology.

But the site stays with the hero till he is discarded right?

The site stays in battle until it is removed from battle by a special ability or all heroes have been removed from battle (or in some cases, all Heroes that can use the site, like NT heroes for The Ends of The Earth). I can't remember the ruling on New Jerusalem though, since it says Hero gains access. I'm not sure if that means only one Hero has access, or if it can transfer to other heroes in battle.
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Schaef on July 07, 2009, 10:43:35 AM
You can only place Lost Souls "into" Sites.  Certain cards that say "place X on Y to do Z", like Stan's Seat or Guards, would be placed "on" a Site.  There's no real difference between "in" and "on" other than the fact that we define "occupied" as Soul in Site.

To use a Site for access, you just put it in battle with your Heroes.  The Heroes are using the Site but you're not "placing" anything "on" or "in" anything.
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Big Ape on July 07, 2009, 12:15:42 PM
To use a Site for access, you just put it in battle with your Heroes.  The Heroes are using the Site but you're not "placing" anything "on" or "in" anything.
so what do I do with the site after battle?
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Schaef on July 07, 2009, 12:21:18 PM
But it back in your territory, usually.
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: Minister Polarius on July 07, 2009, 12:47:08 PM
So, it's true that you can't use an occupied Site for access, but what about an unoccupied site that has something on it?
Title: Re: Occupied Sites
Post by: The Schaef on July 08, 2009, 12:08:03 PM
Should be fine, the only qualifier is (un)occupied, and that is based only on the presence/absence of a Lost Soul.
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal