Cactus Game Design Message Boards
Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: Daniel TS RED on April 28, 2011, 02:40:09 PM
-
Lately I've been saying "mayhem after draw" during RTS games at the end of my turn, but before I've hit the end turn button. Basically after they d3, I Mayhem. If they get LSs on that draw I wait until those have been completed. This to me seems the easiest way to do it, instead of waiting until your opponent d3s and then a fight to see if your Mayhem beat their first card down. What do you guys think? Is this the best way to do it? To me, it's fair and takes out all the guesswork. I've also seen people starting to do that as well that have played me.
Also in a face-to-face game, Can you do this?
-
I'm pretty sure that if you have mayhem and they play a card first then you play mayhem they have to put it back because dominants take presidence so unless they put guardian or SoG down no matter what if they haven't started their next phase you can play mayhem.
-
That certainly works. You lose a slight strategical advantage by doing it that way but the gain might be worth it to most people.
-
Is it fair to slap all my arts down face up before my opponent plays Mayhem on RTS?
-
I don't know how it works during real-life play, so instead of an opinion regarding RTS, it may be one in general, but I think that if I have cards that hit the table before Mayhem does, they should be allowed to stay, regardless of whether or not my opponent announces it before I draw. I think the motives and reasoning behind that are pretty straight-forward.
-
I guess the thing is, when can mayhem be played. I see the advantage going to the one with mayhem and the guy trying to slap down cards shouldn't be able to imo, especially if it's been announced that mayhem would be played after the d3.
If someone is d3'n and the opponent plays mayhem, but you're still trying to place down all the LSs and draw cards to replace those, how would that work?
-
Souls go down, redraw, repeat steps 1 and 2 until no more souls drawn, then Mayhem is carried out.
-
Souls go down, redraw, repeat steps 1 and 2 until no more souls drawn, then Mayhem is carried out.
The one exception to this would be if a player had dominants in their hand that they wanted to play immediately after their own draw. For example if they had NJ in their hand and just needed to draw SoG for the win. Then when they draw SoG, they of course are going to play it immediately.
So in that case, they d3, put down LSs, redraw for the LSs, and then you have a case where both players want to immediately play a dominant. I would rule that the player who drew the cards (including the SoG) would get to play first, because in a slapjack situation, you go with the player who is responding to their own action (in this case drawing SoG).
-
ok that seems fair. So, in the case of someone trying to toss down stuff to aviod the mayhem, they basically have to shuffle those cards back in anyway though right?
-
Correct and I agree with the professor.
-
Awesome, thanks. So in the case of "responding to their own action"... Does that mean they can play any good or bad doms? After the d3, they can aotl one of your guys, or bury one of their LSs before the mayhem is carried out? Or use their own mayhem I guess, how would that one work?
-
They can only use a dominant they were intending to play right away. Usually it's pretty obvious (a GoyS or a SoG/NJ generally), and it's easy to tell if your opponent's only playing them because you played Mayhem (starts AotL'ing, CM'ing, Burying right when the turn starts).
-
I agree with Polarius. The decision to CM or Burial is usually contingent upon other circumstances than just the draw. Playing SoG/NJ or GoYS when you just drew them is not contingent upon other circumstances (usually). There may be exceptions that the host will have to discern, for instance if the drawing player has been waiting forever for a way to get rid of KoT or Zebulun. In those cases, the player likely would have already voiced a desire to dominant them as soon as the opportunity arose.
-
I also agree with Prof U and Pol.
-
So in this example: You say, "mayhem after draw". Your opponent had no ls's out. Your opponent d3's and draws revealer, d1. They would be allowed to Bury that, right? Since clearing your LoB would probably fall under a normal reaction.
-
depends if its a n00b or a pro using the burial.
-
That's an area where they probably wouldn't have used Burial if you hadn't announced Mayhem, but it's not obvious enough to call. There are a few drawbacks to announcing Mayhemming.
-
We really need an intro prep in type 1.