Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => Topic started by: Daniel TS RED on October 07, 2010, 06:47:52 PM

Title: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: Daniel TS RED on October 07, 2010, 06:47:52 PM
The Magi (FF)
Type: Hero Char. • Brigade: Purple • Ability: 3 / 3 • Class: None • Special Ability: Search deck for a N.T. Artifact and add it to hand. • Identifiers: NT Male Human, Magician • Verse: Matthew 2:1 • Availability: Faith of our Fathers booster packs (None)

Magic Charms (TP)
Type: Artifact • Brigade: None • Ability: None • Class: None • Special Ability: Protect your Magicians from capture and conversion. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes. • Play As: Protect your Magicians from capture and convert abilities. You may discard this card from your Magician during battle to capture up to two human Heroes. • Identifiers: None • Verse: Ezekiel 13:20 • Availability: Thesaurus ex Preteritus booster packs ()

Seems like it would work.

Daniel

 :thumbup:
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: lightningninja on October 07, 2010, 06:50:30 PM
Why does it say it has no identifiers? Doesn't the card have an identifier saying that it can be activated on a magician?

EDIT: Yeah it does. Why doesn't the REG list it?

(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.redemptionreg.com%2FREG%2FLinkedDocuments%2FMagic%2520Charms%2520%2528TP%2529.gif&hash=33aaf23f753549ed2d2515871f3ef5874d056e8b)
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: Master KChief on October 07, 2010, 06:56:50 PM
i <3 magic charms.
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: Professoralstad on October 07, 2010, 06:58:45 PM
The Magi were ruled by Rob to not be magicians. Rob defined magician as an EC identifier only.

That part of the REG should be updated. I'm not sure why it wasn't when the ruling was made.
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: Master KChief on October 07, 2010, 06:59:46 PM
so we can use charms on the magi. :maul:
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: lightningninja on October 07, 2010, 07:00:24 PM
So why doesn't the REG list the identifier?
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: Master KChief on October 07, 2010, 07:01:53 PM
i think it has something to do with the 'abilifiers' on arts and forts.
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: browarod on October 07, 2010, 07:04:17 PM
The REG is notorious for not including identifiers like "May be activated on...", "X=blah", "Holds X", and similar.
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: sk on October 07, 2010, 07:07:54 PM
Official announcement that The Magi are incorrectly identified as Magicians. (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17571.0)

For further reading:
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18143.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=18143.0)
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17498.msg290577#msg290577 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=17498.msg290577#msg290577)
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=21929.0 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=21929.0)
http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19215.msg300677#msg300677 (http://www.cactusgamedesign.com/message_boards/index.php?topic=19215.msg300677#msg300677)
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: YourMathTeacher on October 07, 2010, 07:53:15 PM
On a related note, if Magic Charms is active on a magician, can you capture the heroes during a battle if the magician is not actually in the battle?
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: Rawrlolsauce! on October 07, 2010, 08:23:03 PM
Yes. You'll still be meeting the requirement of discarding it from your magician during battle.
Title: Re: Can the Magi use Magic Charms?
Post by: browarod on October 07, 2010, 08:26:22 PM
On a related note, if Magic Charms is active on a magician, can you capture the heroes during a battle if the magician is not actually in the battle?
Yep. It just says "during battle", there's no stipulation that the magician or charms must be in said battle.

*instaposted*
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal