Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Collectible Trading Card Game HQ => Redemption® Resources and Thinktank => New Card Ideas => Topic started by: Asahel24601 on February 24, 2012, 10:41:41 PM

Title: Fallen Angel
Post by: Asahel24601 on February 24, 2012, 10:41:41 PM
(https://www.cactusforums.com/proxy.php?request=http%3A%2F%2Facademy.redemptionconnect.com%2Fcards%2Fmake%2F%3Ftype%3Dec%26amp%3Bbrigade%3Dorange%26amp%3Btitle%3DFallen%2Bangel%26amp%3Bstrength%3D8%26amp%3Btoughness%3D7%26amp%3Bspecial%3DIf%2Ban%2Bopponent%27s%2BHero%2Bplays%2Bthe%2Bfirst%2Benhancement%252C%2Byou%2Bmay%2Bcapture%2Bthis%2Bevil%2Bcharacter%2Bto%2Bopponent%27s%2Bland%2Bof%2Bbondage%2Bto%2Bdiscard%2Bthat%2Bhero.%2BCannot%2Bbe%2B+Interrupted%26amp%3Bverse%3DFor%2Bif%2BGod%2Bspared%2Bnot%2Bthe%2Bangels%2Bthat%2Bsinned%252C%2Bbut%2Bcast%2Bthem%2Bdown%2Bto%2Bhell%252C%2Band%2Bdelivered%2Bthem%2Binto%2Bchains%2Bof%2Bdarkness%252C%2Bto%2Bbe%2Breserved%2Bunto%2Bjudgment%26amp%3Breference%3DII%2BPeter%2B2%253A4%26amp%3Bborder%3Dnavy%26amp%3BcardImage%3Dhttps%25253A%25252F%25252Fs3.amazonaws.com%25252Frconnect%25252Fcards%25252Fcustom%25252Fimages%25252F4731e9b7ab965b1a26ddf755dc6da728.jpg%26amp%3BcardImageX%3D119%26amp%3BcardImageWidth%3D251%26amp%3BcardImageHeight%3D273%26amp%3BcardImageY%3D80%26amp%3Bclass%3Dnone%26amp%3Bidentifier%3D%26amp%3BtitleR%3D%26amp%3BtitleG%3D%26amp%3BtitleB%3D%26amp%3BtitleShadow%3Dnone%26amp%3BabilityR%3D%26amp%3BabilityG%3D%26amp%3BabilityB%3D%26amp%3BabilityShadow%3Dnone%26amp%3BspecialR%3D%26amp%3BspecialG%3D%26amp%3BspecialB%3D%26amp%3BspecialShadow%3Dblack%26amp%3BiR%3D%26amp%3BiG%3D%26amp%3BiB%3D%26amp%3BiShadow%3Dnone&hash=987c162b5731e0f624f0c3002958ca57310d014b)
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Red Wing on February 24, 2012, 10:46:07 PM
I like it. Nice art.

 :thumbup:
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Alex_Olijar on February 24, 2012, 11:47:44 PM
Umm, no thanks.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Chronic Apathy on February 25, 2012, 10:00:35 AM
Umm, no thanks.

I actually don't think that this is such a bad idea. It's not an instead ability, so if that first enhancement targeted Fallen Angel, he would have to negate it before he could do the capture/discard. Thus, he wouldn't be much of a standalone character.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Red Wing on February 25, 2012, 10:17:47 AM
Umm, no thanks.

I actually don't think that this is such a bad idea. It's not an instead ability, so if that first enhancement targeted Fallen Angel, he would have to negate it before he could do the capture/discard. Thus, he wouldn't be much of a standalone character.
Plus, Demons can't be redeemed, so it wouldn't generate a Soul.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Asahel24601 on February 25, 2012, 10:22:53 AM
Umm, no thanks.

I actually don't think that this is such a bad idea. It's not an instead ability, so if that first enhancement targeted Fallen Angel, he would have to negate it before he could do the capture/discard. Thus, he wouldn't be much of a standalone character.
Plus, Demons can't be redeemed, so it wouldn't generate a Soul.
That was the idea
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: browarod on February 25, 2012, 10:48:14 AM
If you're not trying to generate a Soul, what's the point of putting it in the opponent's LoB? Just curious.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Alex_Olijar on February 25, 2012, 11:42:57 AM
Umm, no thanks.

I actually don't think that this is such a bad idea. It's not an instead ability, so if that first enhancement targeted Fallen Angel, he would have to negate it before he could do the capture/discard. Thus, he wouldn't be much of a standalone character.

I'm pretty sure that even if he got say, captured, his ability would activate since it didn't get negated and the trigger was met.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 25, 2012, 12:07:30 PM
He wouldn't be an Evil Character if he were captured. However, based off the Panic! at the Demon+DoU ruling, he'd be able to work his magic even if he were Discarded.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Redoubter on February 25, 2012, 12:46:56 PM
He wouldn't be an Evil Character if he were captured. However, based off the Panic! at the Demon+DoU ruling, he'd be able to work his magic even if he were Discarded.

As someone who probably wasn't around for this ruling, can you point me in the general direction or give me a brief on it?  As far as the wording, doesn't the "YOU may capture" mean that if your opponent captures him (and you do not negate it), it does not trigger?
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Drrek on February 25, 2012, 12:59:00 PM
He wouldn't be an Evil Character if he were captured. However, based off the Panic! at the Demon+DoU ruling, he'd be able to work his magic even if he were Discarded.

As someone who probably wasn't around for this ruling, can you point me in the general direction or give me a brief on it?  As far as the wording, doesn't the "YOU may capture" mean that if your opponent captures him (and you do not negate it), it does not trigger?

If your opponent captures him, you cannot use his ability because of the wording on the card "capture this evil character" and he is no longer an evil character at that point.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Chronic Apathy on February 25, 2012, 01:43:50 PM
Umm, no thanks.

I actually don't think that this is such a bad idea. It's not an instead ability, so if that first enhancement targeted Fallen Angel, he would have to negate it before he could do the capture/discard. Thus, he wouldn't be much of a standalone character.

I'm pretty sure that even if he got say, captured, his ability would activate since it didn't get negated and the trigger was met.

Nope. The card says that he has to do the capturing.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Alex_Olijar on February 25, 2012, 01:48:02 PM
I was just using capture as a (poor) example. I'm saying if you don't interrupt his ability (which you can't) it WILL activate, no matter what.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 26, 2012, 11:18:31 AM
The Pale Green Panic! at the Demon says to place him on a Hero if the RA fails. If you play DoU on him, Discarding him but causing the block to fail, he gets placed from the Discard Pile onto a Hero since his SA wasn't negated. I guess the only question here would be whether it is possible to capture a card in the discard pile, but since you can place a card in the discard pile I don't see why not.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Redoubter on February 26, 2012, 11:51:58 AM
The Pale Green Panic! at the Demon says to place him on a Hero if the RA fails. If you play DoU on him, Discarding him but causing the block to fail, he gets placed from the Discard Pile onto a Hero since his SA wasn't negated. I guess the only question here would be whether it is possible to capture a card in the discard pile, but since you can place a card in the discard pile I don't see why not.

Panic Demon (Pale Green) (AW)
Type: Evil Char. • Brigade: Pale Green • Ability: 2 / 4 • Class: None • Special Ability: If rescue attempt fails, you may place this card on a Hero in a territory. Hero cannot enter battle while this Panic Demon remains. May band to Panic Demon.

The difference in this case is the bolded section.  The rescue attempt failing is different than "YOU may capture" in the proposed card's SA.  The rescue attempt failing is a game rule, while YOU capturing him to opponent's LoB is an activated ability.  Since it does not interrupt, it could not happen in the case of a capture ability being played on the demon (unless, of course, you stopped the capture).
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 26, 2012, 12:05:07 PM
That's not the point. Whether or not you intended it (I'm not sure which it is), if the first card the opponent plays is anything that doesn't capture, shuffle or return this card to hand, you can capture it and Discard the opposing Hero.
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Redoubter on February 26, 2012, 12:25:33 PM
That's not the point. Whether or not you intended it (I'm not sure which it is), if the first card the opponent plays is anything that doesn't capture, shuffle or return this card to hand, you can capture it and Discard the opposing Hero.

Well, you already can't convert it (demon), so I suppose all that is left is discard.  Would it be better than to make the ability: "If blocking and a hero played the first enhancement, then..."  You'd have to be blocking at the point the ability activates (I believe).  Of course, wording on card is so tedious with the rules a little ambiguous :P
Title: Re: Fallen Angel
Post by: Minister Polarius on February 26, 2012, 12:51:29 PM
Yeah, or "capture from battle."
SimplePortal 2.3.3 © 2008-2010, SimplePortal