Author Topic: Double/triple-up on characters?  (Read 686 times)

Offline emonier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Double/triple-up on characters?
« on: May 11, 2017, 02:10:52 PM »
0
Hello Friends,

I am building my first T2 deck, and I am conflicted about putting multiple copies of HEROES and EC's in the deck, because, what if I end up having one already out in play, and then I draw another one from my draw pile? The one I just drew has to stay in my hand or be discarded, because it can't come out into the field of play.

Are there any rules of thumb for this? (i.e. do you put multiple copies based on the importance of that particular character in your deck strategy?)

Thanks,

EM

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12231
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Double/triple-up on characters?
« Reply #1 on: May 11, 2017, 02:20:04 PM »
+1
In an average deck, I usually have a handful of Heroes and Evil Characters that I double up on so it's more likely I draw at least one earlier in the game. In one of my Silver T2 decks from last year I had 2 Michaels, 2 Captain of the Host and 2 Strong Angels, and then one each of a bunch of other support angels.

Once in awhile I use 3 or 4 copies if a particular character is vital to my strategy and/or it doesn't stay on the table much. A good example of this is The Angel Under the Oak in a Judges deck. Because he often ends up back in the deck or my discard pile, I'm usually not worried about having extra of him in hand for a turn or two.

Keep in mind that rule only applies to unique characters--you can have multiple copies of the same generic character in play at the same time.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline emonier

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 386
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Double/triple-up on characters?
« Reply #2 on: May 11, 2017, 03:52:50 PM »
0
Guardian:
Thank you, that helps. Also, I had forgotten about the multiple generics rule - that helps too.
Question: Is the 12-fingered Giant generic? (He does not have a name, and I think that many of the giants had 12 fingers).
Thanks,
EM

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2082
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Double/triple-up on characters?
« Reply #3 on: May 11, 2017, 03:53:21 PM »
+1
He is Unique

Offline Ironisaac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1627
  • Awake from the grave
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Double/triple-up on characters?
« Reply #4 on: May 11, 2017, 04:00:50 PM »
0
(almost) all characters who have "the" in front of their name are unique, not generic. 
Some call me "Goofus"

 

Templates: 3: index (default), Portal (default), Display (default).
Sub templates: 8: init, html_above, body_above, portal_above, main, portal_below, body_below, html_below.
Language files: 2: SPortal.english (default), index+Modifications.english (default).
Style sheets: 2: portal (default), gpbp (default).
Files included: 14 - 830KB. (show)
Queries used: 27.

[Show Queries]