Author Topic: What if Nicanor (EC) and The Priests of Zeus are active and opponent draws?  (Read 168 times)

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 735
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Hi there,

what happens if one player has Nicanor (EC) and The Priests of Zeus active at the same time and opponent draws using his SA and prerequisites for Nicanor are fulfilled?
Will both character trigger or will Nicanor restrict triggering of Priests?

Nicanor (EC):While you control another deacon (or Widows' Tables), if an opponent draws because of his special ability (except Nicanor), instead each player draws 1. Cannot be interrupted.

The Priests of Zeus:If an opponent draws because of their special ability, you may discard a card in that player's territory (except a Lost Soul). Cannot be interrupted.

Thank you in advance!

Bye

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12170
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Because Nicanor is a mandatory triggered ability, he would take precedence, and since the opponent is now drawing because of Nicanor, The Priest of Zeus would not trigger.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2749
    • -
    • North Central Region
Additionally, I believe that if you have two mandatory triggers competing, then whichever was played/activated first would take precedence.

For instance, if you had both Nicanor and The god of this World in play, only the one that was played first would take place. If TgotW was down first, only your opponent would draw 1 and if Nicanor was down first, you would both draw 1.

The god of this World (TC EC): … If an opponent would draw because of his special ability, he draws one less.
Fortress Alstad

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Nicanor is an instead, so it would have priority over The Priest of Zeus even if it was optional. The instead by game rule inserts (or can insert, if optional) and replaces the original draw.

Additionally, I believe that if you have two mandatory triggers competing, then whichever was played/activated first would take precedence.

For instance, if you had both Nicanor and The god of this World in play, only the one that was played first would take place. If TgotW was down first, only your opponent would draw 1 and if Nicanor was down first, you would both draw 1.

The god of this World (TC EC): … If an opponent would draw because of his special ability, he draws one less.

For triggers, we've gone to the active players gets to activate all of their mandatory triggers, then all of their optional triggers. Then their opponent, then turn order around the table. I think the same applies to insteads.