Author Topic: Using Unsuccessful during SI  (Read 313 times)

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1942
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Using Unsuccessful during SI
« on: December 19, 2018, 03:25:15 PM »
0
There was discussion about this recently and Gabe mentioned it would be taken under advisement. I’m posting this to see what the elder ruling is regarding using Unsuccessful during SI as an enh in battle.

Can a player play Unsuccessful as an enh during SI?

Errata - “At any time, you may discard this card to negate the last good enh played in battle.”
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1745
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Using Unsuccessful during SI
« Reply #1 on: December 19, 2018, 03:29:00 PM »
0
With the current errata wording, you could not play this as an enhancement during SI since it doesn't immediately interrupt or negate anything when played and requires you to activate it first. This is basically the same reason Gam's Speech can't be played during SI.

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2576
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Using Unsuccessful during SI
« Reply #2 on: December 21, 2018, 10:31:59 AM »
0
But yet Gam's Speech can still be activated after SI (ultimately resulting in the same thing), whereas Unsuccessful can't (if the SI causes the beginning of battle resolution.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1942
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Using Unsuccessful during SI
« Reply #3 on: December 21, 2018, 11:25:12 AM »
0
But yet Gam's Speech can still be activated after SI (ultimately resulting in the same thing), whereas Unsuccessful can't (if the SI causes the beginning of battle resolution.

But battle resolution occurs when both players agree it does. As an enhancement correct, it couldn’t be used in SI. But if it was played as an artifact earlier on then it would work just like Gam’s Speech does.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2576
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Using Unsuccessful during SI
« Reply #4 on: December 21, 2018, 11:50:00 AM »
0
But yet Gam's Speech can still be activated after SI (ultimately resulting in the same thing), whereas Unsuccessful can't (if the SI causes the beginning of battle resolution.

But battle resolution occurs when both players agree it does. As an enhancement correct, it couldn’t be used in SI. But if it was played as an artifact earlier on then it would work just like Gam’s Speech does.

Depends on the enhancement played and where it "currently" is.  Enhancements like Death of Unrighteous, Korah's Rebellion, Achan's Sin, etc are no longer in play after they complete.  So while the battle might not be "officially" over, if the evil enhancement isn't in play anymore Unsuccessful can't target it.

I'd have to get verification by someone who knows more than me, but say we are playing a sealed deck game and you discard my character with a card like Fiery Darts or Eaten by Worms; my character is placed in discard pile, but your character and enhancement are still in battle because I haven't agreed to go to battle resolution.  So you could use it at this point and that enhancement in negated and my character comes back to battle.

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1745
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Using Unsuccessful during SI
« Reply #5 on: December 21, 2018, 12:15:29 PM »
0
Depends on the enhancement played and where it "currently" is.  Enhancements like Death of Unrighteous, Korah's Rebellion, Achan's Sin, etc are no longer in play after they complete.  So while the battle might not be "officially" over, if the evil enhancement isn't in play anymore Unsuccessful can't target it.

Since Unsuccessful specifies the last good enhancement played it can target it regardless of location.

I'd have to get verification by someone who knows more than me, but say we are playing a sealed deck game and you discard my character with a card like Fiery Darts or Eaten by Worms; my character is placed in discard pile, but your character and enhancement are still in battle because I haven't agreed to go to battle resolution.  So you could use it at this point and that enhancement in negated and my character comes back to battle.

Yes.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12095
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Using Unsuccessful during SI
« Reply #6 on: December 21, 2018, 12:27:39 PM »
0
+1
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?