Author Topic: Slaves in Egypt got captured opponent's LoB - do they count as both alignments?  (Read 166 times)

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 710
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Hi again,

question is: What if I attack/block with Slaves in Egypt and capture them to opponent's LoB? Do they count as both Hero and EC there or do they only count as the alignment with which they have been played (I'd say the latter case applies)?

Slaves in Egypt: You may capture this character to opponent's Land of Bondage to take an Exodus Fortress from deck or Reserve and add an Exodus character to battle.

Thanks for a short clarification!

Bye
« Last Edit: March 17, 2019, 10:44:06 AM by Reth »

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Per the REG, captured characters are treated as neutral, unless an ability specifies targeting of what kind of character is captured, such as Covenant of Palestine (PoC). So if Slaves was captured to your opponent’s LoB as a hero, if a EC tried to negate a good card, your opponent could not target Slaves because it’s no longer aligned to good but to neutral.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 710
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Per the REG, captured characters are treated as neutral, unless an ability specifies targeting of what kind of character is captured, such as Covenant of Palestine (PoC). So if Slaves was captured to your opponent’s LoB as a hero, if a EC tried to negate a good card, your opponent could not target Slaves because it’s no longer aligned to good but to neutral.

Thank you. And what does this mean if I try to use Lamb's Righteousness on Slaves? Do they always count as Hero then, regardless whether I captured them used as blocker?

Lamb's Righteousness: If rescuing and your Hero is opposed, you may rescue a captured Hero in opponent's territory. If you do, restrict yourself from rescuing additional cards this turn.

Offline ArmedKevin117

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 164
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Per the REG, captured characters are treated as neutral, unless an ability specifies targeting of what kind of character is captured, such as Covenant of Palestine (PoC). So if Slaves was captured to your opponent’s LoB as a hero, if a EC tried to negate a good card, your opponent could not target Slaves because it’s no longer aligned to good but to neutral.

Thank you. And what does this mean if I try to use Lamb's Righteousness on Slaves? Do they always count as Hero then, regardless whether I captured them used as blocker?

Lamb's Righteousness: If rescuing and your Hero is opposed, you may rescue a captured Hero in opponent's territory. If you do, restrict yourself from rescuing additional cards this turn.

*I think* the takeaway here is that you can think of them as a captured "whatever they were when they were captured" with neutral alignment.

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 710
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
*I think* the takeaway here is that you can think of them as a captured "whatever they were when they were captured" with neutral alignment.

So as I already thought? When send to LoB while started as blocker I cannot rescue them using Lamb's Righteousness?

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
  • Don't worry. Koalas are still cool.
    • -
    • North Central Region
*I think* the takeaway here is that you can think of them as a captured "whatever they were when they were captured" with neutral alignment.

So as I already thought? When send to LoB while started as blocker I cannot rescue them using Lamb's Righteousness?
Yes and yes. If used as a Hero, it's a captured Hero. If used as an Evil Character, it's a captured EC. Either way it's neutral although I don't think you were confused about that part.
Fortress Alstad

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1892
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
*I think* the takeaway here is that you can think of them as a captured "whatever they were when they were captured" with neutral alignment.

So as I already thought? When send to LoB while started as blocker I cannot rescue them using Lamb's Righteousness?

Remember this part of my first sentence:

“unless an ability specifies targeting of what kind of character is captured”

This means Lamb’s Righteousness CAN target Slaves so long as Slaves was a hero when it was captured to your opponent’s LoB.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 710
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Thanks guys!