Author Topic: Site Doubler  (Read 297 times)

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Site Doubler
« on: May 29, 2019, 05:45:34 PM »
0
Iím assuming I can use this ability at any time or do I have to use it (or lose it if I donít have a preoccupied site) as soon as it hits the table?

Play as: ďYou may put this Lost Soul in a Site occupied by one Lost Soul.Ē
« Last Edit: May 29, 2019, 06:35:01 PM by Watchman »
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Online The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12225
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #1 on: May 29, 2019, 05:50:25 PM »
0
My understanding has always been that you can place it in a Site anytime during your prep phase (the default for when LS may be placed in Sites), but based on a strict reading of the card, perhaps that is not quite accurate... ???
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #2 on: May 29, 2019, 06:43:49 PM »
0
I used to play it as you understood it, but was told that it is an instant ability.

So where does that leave us in regards to an official ruling?
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline Cnakeeyes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 326
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #3 on: May 29, 2019, 07:39:18 PM »
0
In our area we have always treated it as like a identifier

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10276
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #4 on: May 29, 2019, 07:42:40 PM »
0
Iíve always played that you can do it at any time. Thatís how it functioned years ago when rules werenít defined as well.

Under todayís rules Iím pretty sure it should be played as an instant ability that you use when itís drawn.

Time for a reprint?  :)
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #5 on: May 29, 2019, 09:02:17 PM »
0
So the official ruling is itís an instant ability?
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Online The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12225
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #6 on: May 29, 2019, 09:03:51 PM »
0
Now the question is if you can place in an opponent's occupied Site... ::)
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1769
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #7 on: May 29, 2019, 09:11:29 PM »
0
My understanding has always been that you can place it in a Site anytime during your prep phase (the default for when LS may be placed in Sites)

This is how I was taught to play it.


Time for a reprint?  :)

Wouldn't that be swell.  👍

This is the first time I have heard of it being played any other way than what we have already mentioned it has. If there is a reprint, cough Legacy Rare cough cough, I would like for it to continue to function as it has for the past umpteen years.

Now the question is if you can place in an opponent's occupied Site... ::)

If we are going by today's rules, as referred to by Gabe,  then I would have to say Yes.  🙈
More soul gen.


Godspeed,
Mike
« Last Edit: May 29, 2019, 09:21:46 PM by 777Godspeed »
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #8 on: May 29, 2019, 09:37:47 PM »
0
The ability is very similar to how the ability works for Deck Discard LS, Hand Discard LS, Site Guard LS, etc in that WHEN you put the soul into the site then do X. In this case, WHEN thereís a soul in a site THEN you can put this soul into that site. And when we consider when this card/ability was made Iím quite certain that was the intention of its design (when you gain a benefit by putting a soul into a site).

Phew, thatís a lot of Whenís :D
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 427
    • East Central Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #9 on: May 29, 2019, 11:46:22 PM »
0
The ability is very similar to how the ability works for Deck Discard LS, Hand Discard LS, Site Guard LS, etc in that WHEN you put the soul into the site then do X. In this case, WHEN thereís a soul in a site THEN you can put this soul into that site. And when we consider when this card/ability was made Iím quite certain that was the intention of its design (when you gain a benefit by putting a soul into a site).

Phew, thatís a lot of Whenís :D

So you couldnít put it in a site if there isnít already a soul there?

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #10 on: May 30, 2019, 06:54:23 AM »
0
The ability is very similar to how the ability works for Deck Discard LS, Hand Discard LS, Site Guard LS, etc in that WHEN you put the soul into the site then do X. In this case, WHEN thereís a soul in a site THEN you can put this soul into that site. And when we consider when this card/ability was made Iím quite certain that was the intention of its design (when you gain a benefit by putting a soul into a site).

Phew, thatís a lot of Whenís :D

So you couldnít put it in a site if there isnít already a soul there?

Yes you could, but I was speaking specifically of the soulís ability.
« Last Edit: May 30, 2019, 06:56:53 AM by Watchman »
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1769
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #11 on: May 30, 2019, 09:06:52 AM »
0
The flip side question would be - Could you add a Lost Soul to the site if the Doubler is already placed there? I would say No, due to Doublers wording and game rule.

Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2040
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #12 on: May 30, 2019, 11:11:18 AM »
0
The flip side question would be - Could you add a Lost Soul to the site if the Doubler is already placed there? I would say No, due to Doublers wording and game rule.

Godspeed,
Mike

Youíre correct. You wouldnít be allowed to do that.
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3162
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Site Doubler
« Reply #13 on: May 30, 2019, 04:57:37 PM »
0
RIP combo   :'(
If creation sings Your praises so will I
If You gave Your life to love them so will I

 

Templates: 3: index (default), Portal (default), Display (default).
Sub templates: 8: init, html_above, body_above, portal_above, main, portal_below, body_below, html_below.
Language files: 2: SPortal.english (default), index+Modifications.english (default).
Style sheets: 2: portal (default), gpbp (default).
Files included: 16 - 916KB. (show)
Queries used: 27.

[Show Queries]