Author Topic: Orange brigade questions.  (Read 334 times)

Offline redemption collector 777

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
    • -
    • North Central Region
Orange brigade questions.
« on: October 09, 2018, 05:18:12 PM »
0
Trembling Demon: If no good Enhancements are played this battle , protect all Lost Souls from rescue. Opponent may discard a good Enhancement from hand to negate this.

Sinning Hand SA: Banish a Hero. Any player may discard half the cards in hand (round down) to negate this. Otherwise , it cannot be interrupted.

Mark of the Beast part of SA: If played during battle and you control a Revelation beast , you may discard this card to discard a Hero.

Deafening Spirit SA: Negate and discard the last good Enhancement played in battle. You may convert this card to an Evil Character until end of battle.

Walking on Water SA: Negate and discard the last evil enhancement played in battle.



1. If sinning hand was played and a player discarded half their hand to save their hero in battle from being banished , can the "discard half hand" part of the special ability still be negated afterwards?? (or is the entire ability CBI??) 


2.  The way trembling Demon special ability is worded , if an opponent decides to discard a good enhancement from hand , does this negate the protect ability on TD or the entire ability? (including discarding a good enhancement from hand?)

I am assuming the "negate this" part is only referring to the protect ability and not the discarding good enhancement from hand as well.


3. If Mark of the Beast is active as a Curse and you control a Revelation beast , can you discard MofB during battle to discard a hero??

4. If deafening spirit is played,  converted itself to an evil character , and then walking on water is played to try and undo DS SA , does DS go back to an evil enhancement??

5. If deafening spirit is now converted to an Evil character , if the DS evil character got negated (like negate an evil card ability) does it go back to an evil enhancement??
« Last Edit: October 09, 2018, 05:51:49 PM by redemption collector 777 »

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2909
  • Formerly known as jmhartz
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #1 on: October 09, 2018, 06:36:51 PM »
0
1. If sinning hand was played and a player discarded half their hand to save their hero in battle from being banished , can the "discard half hand" part of the special ability still be negated afterwards?? (or is the entire ability CBI??) 

It isn't well known, but yes, this is legal.  You can get your cards back if you negate Sinning Hand.
There's been a mistake.  You've accidentally given me the food that my food eats.

Offline SignoftheStar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 388
  • Phillippians 4:8
    • -
    • East Central Region
    • My YouTube Page
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2018, 05:20:57 PM »
0
2.  The way trembling Demon special ability is worded , if an opponent decides to discard a good enhancement from hand , does this negate the protect ability on TD or the entire ability? (including discarding a good enhancement from hand?)

I am assuming the "negate this" part is only referring to the protect ability and not the discarding good enhancement from hand as well.

Your assumption is correct. Discard the GE does not negate discarding the GE. Nowadays, an SA like this would be an instead rather than a "do this to negate this", but according to the latest errata the wording has not been changed.

3. If Mark of the Beast is active as a Curse and you control a Revelation beast , can you discard MofB during battle to discard a hero??

No. This is why Mark explicitly states "If played in battle", meaning you must use it as an EE in order to use the discard.

4. If deafening spirit is played,  converted itself to an evil character , and then walking on water is played to try and undo DS SA , does DS go back to an evil enhancement??

5. If deafening spirit is now converted to an Evil character , if the DS evil character got negated (like negate an evil card ability) does it go back to an evil enhancement??

One of the best things about DS is how tricky it can be to negate back (more so when it was first printed). Because DS converts itself into an EC, you must negate or interrupt it as an EC- it's no longer targetable by a card like Walking On Water, as it's no longer targetable as an EE.
But yes, if you do manage to negate DS, it reverts to being an EE, as you negated the convert ability.
The core of all life is a limitless chest of tales.

Offline ChristianSoldier

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1562
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2018, 06:34:33 PM »
0
3. If Mark of the Beast is active as a Curse and you control a Revelation beast , can you discard MofB during battle to discard a hero??

No. This is why Mark explicitly states "If played in battle", meaning you must use it as an EE in order to use the discard.

What happens if you activate it as an artifact during battle? The Meal at Emmaus being the classical way to do it, but there could be other ways.
If you are reading this signature, thank a physicist.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2775
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #4 on: October 10, 2018, 06:36:25 PM »
0
"If played IN battle" has to be played within the Field of Battle.

"If played DURING battle" will work if played while a battle is happening, such as The Meal in Emmaus.

Offline ChristianSoldier

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1562
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #5 on: October 10, 2018, 06:43:49 PM »
0
"If played IN battle" has to be played within the Field of Battle.

"If played DURING battle" will work if played while a battle is happening, such as The Meal in Emmaus.

That makes sense. "In" is a location reference, "During" is pretty obviously a phase temporal (in this case phase). One more, possibly absurd, question, what if it were activated on a Character with a Holds identifier while that character is in battle? I assume if such a situation would come up it would work, right?
If you are reading this signature, thank a physicist.

Offline SignoftheStar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 388
  • Phillippians 4:8
    • -
    • East Central Region
    • My YouTube Page
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #6 on: October 12, 2018, 10:18:00 AM »
0
One more, possibly absurd, question, what if it were activated on a Character with a Holds identifier while that character is in battle? I assume if such a situation would come up it would work, right?

Although I can't think of any currently existing situation that would allow you to activate Mark of the Beast as an Artifact on a Character in battle, I don't see why that would not allow you to trip the discard. The conditions are that you play it, and that you play it in battle. You fulfill both requirements, so I don't see why not.

Though I also don't see why you'd have to go through all that trouble.
The core of all life is a limitless chest of tales.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11498
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Orange brigade questions.
« Reply #7 on: October 12, 2018, 02:17:36 PM »
0
1. If sinning hand was played and a player discarded half their hand to save their hero in battle from being banished , can the "discard half hand" part of the special ability still be negated afterwards?? (or is the entire ability CBI??) 

It isn't well known, but yes, this is legal.  You can get your cards back if you negate Sinning Hand.

That has never been my understanding of SH. While it certainly has ambiguous wording, I believe the interpretation of "otherwise" means that the discarding of half the hand is the only method by which to negate SH.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?