Author Topic: Seized by Babylon Q  (Read 380 times)

Offline Master Q

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
  • Fearless #BanSam
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Seized by Babylon Q
« on: December 10, 2018, 02:27:08 PM »
0
My Q relates specifically to this part of the ability:

"...If used by a Babylonian, you may take a Site or Fortress and play it. CBP by a good card."

If the card being taken in Q has a card placed on it, do you take and play that card as well?

Scenario:


Opponent has a temple with an Artifact on it in territory. I play SbB on a Babylonian. Do I:

A. Take the Fortress and its contents and play them both (activating the Art on the Fort right away)

B. Take the Fortress and its contents but only play the Fortress (keeping the Art in hand)

C. Take only the Fortress, play it, and discard its contents

D. Some other thing
Absentmindedly glancing at this unimpressive signature fills you with determination.

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 9988
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #1 on: December 10, 2018, 03:09:56 PM »
0
The take ability changes permanent control and allows you to have another players card in your hand. The take ability only applies to the specific card [type] mentioned.

Cards that are placed/held follow the card they are placed/held on, thus a card place/held on a card that is taken will should follow it. However, cards that you do not permanently control do not go to your hand, they go to the owners hand. So I think in the example given the Artifact would go to the owner's hand while the Temple goes to your hand.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11741
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #2 on: December 10, 2018, 03:18:11 PM »
0
+1

I believe it would be the same as your opponent taking your Hero with Nic's Teaching and you playing Hypocrisy on that Hero. The Hero would go to your hand and NT would go to their hand.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3007
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #3 on: December 20, 2018, 03:25:12 PM »
0
Since the Take ability is optional, is the Play ability also optional?  Can you keep the Fort/Site in hand?
You had me at Meat Tornado.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #4 on: December 20, 2018, 03:52:55 PM »
0
The “going to opponent’s hand” answer assumes the taker is taking it to his hand, but the ability cited above reads “you may take [X] and play it.” The “play it” part means it is played in your territory, so the artifact would follow the temple in this example. Why would the fort go to the taker’s hand when the ability reads “and play it”?
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2811
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #5 on: December 20, 2018, 03:55:34 PM »
0
"Take X to territory" would go directly to territory, "take X and play it" passes through the taker's hand, even if only momentarily.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #6 on: December 20, 2018, 03:56:59 PM »
0
"Take X to territory" would go directly to territory, "take X and play it" passes through the taker's hand, even if only momentarily.

I did not realize that. Thx.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Online Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #7 on: December 20, 2018, 03:57:41 PM »
0
Since the Take ability is optional, is the Play ability also optional?  Can you keep the Fort/Site in hand?

There's plenty of precedent for "you may ___ and ___" meaning "you may ___ and you may ___" so I don't see any reason you couldn't keep it in hand.

The “going to opponent’s hand” answer assumes the taker is taking it to his hand, but the ability cited above reads “you may take [X] and play it.” The “play it” part means it is played in your territory, so the artifact would follow the temple in this example. Why would the fort go to the taker’s hand when the ability reads “and play it”?

The fort goes to the taker's hand because that's what a take ability does. Even if playing it wasn't optional the fort would still technically go to the taker's hand before being played.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1766
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #8 on: December 20, 2018, 04:00:41 PM »
0
Since the Take ability is optional, is the Play ability also optional?  Can you keep the Fort/Site in hand?

There's plenty of precedent for "you may ___ and ___" meaning "you may ___ and you may ___" so I don't see any reason you couldn't keep it in hand.

I was under the impression if there was a conjuction like “and” as part of the ability that it must be done with the first part of the ability if it can be done.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Online Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1675
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Seized by Babylon Q
« Reply #9 on: December 20, 2018, 04:30:27 PM »
0
Since the Take ability is optional, is the Play ability also optional?  Can you keep the Fort/Site in hand?

There's plenty of precedent for "you may ___ and ___" meaning "you may ___ and you may ___" so I don't see any reason you couldn't keep it in hand.

I was under the impression if there was a conjuction like “and” as part of the ability that it must be done with the first part of the ability if it can be done.

That's only the case if it said "to" instead of "and".