Author Topic: SA and banding  (Read 246 times)

Offline Arosonic

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • South Central Region
SA and banding
« on: April 20, 2019, 07:47:05 PM »
0
I attempt a rescue and play angel of deliverance. My opponent blocks with third seal/famine and activates his ability. After ability activists my hero will be discarded giving me SI. I have guardian angel and gave him the ability to band to any hero. Can I band him into battle to save AoD?

Also do I have to band at the beginning of the battle or can I wait?

Online Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: SA and banding
« Reply #1 on: April 20, 2019, 07:55:21 PM »
0
Banding is an instant ability and since abilities on characters activate when they enter battle, you must band at the start of battle or not at all. You can't decide to use the banding ability later. Also, in the case of special initiative, the only thing you can do is play an enhancement that interrupts or negates the ability causing the removal. In addition to that, heal abilities only work on characters who are already being discarded and during SI the discard ability is suspended and hasn't actually happened yet so trying to heal during SI wouldn't even do anything.

Offline Arosonic

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • South Central Region
Re: SA and banding
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2019, 07:57:42 PM »
0
Got it thanks. So can I use Guardian Angel’s ability later in battle or when he first joins the battle

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2003
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: SA and banding
« Reply #3 on: April 20, 2019, 08:04:25 PM »
0
Heal abilities are instant abilities so it would have to be as soon as he enter battle.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Arosonic

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • South Central Region
Re: SA and banding
« Reply #4 on: April 20, 2019, 08:17:10 PM »
0
Wouldn’t that mean I use his ability on someone in my discard pile?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: SA and banding
« Reply #5 on: April 20, 2019, 08:48:21 PM »
0
You have to heal a character that is being discarded, or is poisoned/paralyzed in territory. Once a character hits the discard pile, it's too late to heal.

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2749
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: SA and banding
« Reply #6 on: April 23, 2019, 04:11:16 PM »
0
In other words, Guardian Angel's ability is less useful than one might think.

Also, quick note on posting ruling questions, it's considered good practice to post the abilities of the cards in question so that others don't have to look it up if they don't remember. It also helps avoid cases where people misremember abilities and answer incorrectly as a result.
Fortress Alstad