Author Topic: ruling question?  (Read 84 times)

Offline whiteandgold7

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • Dances with numbers
    • -
    • Southeast Region
ruling question?
« on: July 14, 2018, 12:26:16 AM »
0
A player was blocking with Emperor Nero is "immune" to lone heros.  The person making the rescue attempt was using enhancements that was affecting other things on the table, not Emperor Nero, and had constant initiative.  At one point they drew a card that had the ability "Negate, and discard an evil card"  They said that they had the ability to negate and discard Emperor Nero.  I did not think that this was right because the person attacking Emperor Nero was a "lone hero" hence I did not necessarily believe that the immunity could be interrupted and/or negated since it was only a lone hero.  They told me that the rules for Emperor Nero had been updated to say that since Emperor Nero did not say can not be interrupted or cannot be negated, that it therefore could be.  I ruled with what the person said assuming that this was a new ruling.  However, I came home tonight, and I checked out the REG, and I do not see evidence to support this ruling.  What I do see is that Emperor Hero was being blocked by a lone hero, and immunity and negate definitions according to the REG do not allow for this to be negated by a lone hero.  Can someone please clarify.  Thanks

Steven

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4940
  • Block, Block, Block
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: ruling question?
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2018, 12:31:12 AM »
+1
Immune/Protect does not stop Negate. Not really a new ruling perse, but one that comes up from time to time. You ruled correctly. I'll see if I can find and quote the relevant REG passages for you
Don't sacrifice the permanent on the altar of the immediate

Offline whiteandgold7

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • Dances with numbers
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: ruling question?
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2018, 06:47:19 AM »
0
I call it a new ruling because previously there was not a negate card that specifically said negate and discard an evil card.  That is a more recent special ability that didn't exist when the apostles came out which made Emperor Nero a more powerful card in his day, and a less powerful card today.

Steven.

REG does not seem to support this Negate.  Please give me references where it specifically does support this negate.


Online Jeremystair

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 839
    • LFG
    • Southeast Region
Re: ruling question?
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2018, 08:26:00 AM »
0
I struggled with this at the beginning as well because when something is protected (at least in my mind) from something else you think that it could not be touched at all. But in Redemption cards can still be targeted by negates because they're targeting the abilities not the card itself.

So in your case Emperor Nero is protected from lone Heroes but your opponent is targeting that ability and negating it. He's not targeting your card. Hope this helps.

REG

Immune and protect

Immune and protect effects keep cards from being affected by a specified set of cards or abilities.

A card that is immune to or protected from abilities cannot be targeted by the specified type of effect within an ability, but may be targeted by the strength or other effects on a card with that type of effect.

Effect

An effect is part of an ability that acts upon a target. Targets are usually cards, abilities, or players

Negate

Negate effects target the abilities that they negate.

Offline whiteandgold7

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 816
  • Dances with numbers
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: ruling question?
« Reply #4 on: Today at 12:34:21 AM »
0
Thanks