Author Topic: Rapha of Gath  (Read 263 times)

Offline goalieking87

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 246
    • East Central Region
Rapha of Gath
« on: September 16, 2018, 03:01:42 PM »
0
Question: Does Rapha’s Reserve access work if a Philistine other than Rapha blocks. I would argue that it counts because it is read from the player’s perspective, but would like confirmation.

Rapha: (Territory class) Protect Philistines in territory from opponents. If blocking, you may topdeck a black Philistine or weapon from Reserve (or take it if opponent has used a draw or search ability this turn).

REG
Blocking 
An Evil Character is blocking if it is defending in a battle begun by a Hero, regardless of the presence of a Hero in the battle. A player is blocking if they control a blocking Evil Character.


Offline redemption collector 777

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 756
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Rapha of Gath
« Reply #1 on: September 16, 2018, 03:11:42 PM »
0
In my opinion I believe the "If " part of the special ability is only referring to Rapha himself blocking.

If it were referring to any of your philistines blocking then I would think it would be worded like this " If your philistine blocks".



Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2775
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Rapha of Gath
« Reply #2 on: September 16, 2018, 04:22:33 PM »
0
The intent was definitely for that part to only activate if Rapha blocks. I'm not certain that's what the rules say.

However, "if blocking" is a one time check when you play the card, like Foreign Wives draw check. So unless you manage to put Rapha in territory while you are already blocking, you can't search. And I'm not sure you can search in that scenario, just that it's the only one where you might be able to.

The usage of "if blocking" on Warning Against Rebellion and "if rescuing" on Eternal Inheritance/Lamb's Righteousness does tend to point towards the phrases applying to the player, since Enhancements don't do either.
« Last Edit: September 16, 2018, 05:07:05 PM by RedemptionAggie »

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11498
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Rapha of Gath
« Reply #3 on: October 10, 2018, 12:40:41 AM »
0
I think if you managed to draw the Darkness LS while blocking and used it to put Rapha in territory, the Reserve access ability would activate.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?