Author Topic: Random Questions  (Read 292 times)

Offline TheHobbit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5138
    • -
    • North Central Region
Random Questions
« on: February 02, 2019, 09:04:21 PM »
0
If magic charms is used from territory to capture heroes in battle does your opponent get SI to try and negate it?

If The Great Fish is Angeled after setting a hero aside does he go to deck or remain in discard pile after battle?

If a hero in battle is tossed until discarded can they use YWR to add another hero to the battle? Or is the game rule discarding them and not opponent?

The "limit once" on idols of canaan is distinct from "limit once per game" of say Egyptian Army?
Not only is SilencedMatrix a Redemption champion, he's a sports guru too!

Online Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1719
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #1 on: February 02, 2019, 09:13:29 PM »
0
1. Yes

2. He should remain in discard. The ability defaults to play and when it checks he's no longer there.

3. They might get SI to negate the toss because its the decrease from the opponent that's removing them but I'm not completely sure.

4. I believe limit once would reset if they card goes back to face value but I'm also not 100% sure on this one.

Offline TheHobbit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5138
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #2 on: February 02, 2019, 11:43:19 PM »
0
Ok thanks Kevin. Still looking for an answer to #3, that's a good one.
Not only is SilencedMatrix a Redemption champion, he's a sports guru too!

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 357
    • East Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #3 on: February 03, 2019, 09:59:51 AM »
0
For #3, I am not sure why you wouldn’t be able to use YWR.

If someone used Provoked in battle and decreased a character beyond their defense, they would be discarded and opponent is still removing your last hero from battle and activate YWR.

Toss would essentially have the same effect.

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10076
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #4 on: February 03, 2019, 10:02:19 AM »
+1
#3 - "If opponent removes your last Hero from battle" will be triggered via SA or game rule.

#4 - "Limit once" can be reset if the card is returned to face value or if you have multiple copies. "Limit once per game" cannot.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3035
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #5 on: February 04, 2019, 12:49:31 PM »
0
Some clarifications:

#1

Magic Charms only causes SI if it removes the last hero in battle from an opponent.  If they still have a hero in battle, or if MC is used during MC's owner's attack, there's no SI.

#4

The problem with Idols of Canaan's "Limit once" restriction is that once you make a conversion, Idols of Canaan is discarded by game rule.  So no chance for reset shenanigans.

#3 - "If opponent removes your last Hero from battle" will be triggered via SA or game rule.

Does this mean YWR could be used during battle resolution when your hero is defeated by the numbers?  There's 7 steps in the REG for Battle Resolution, it seems like YWR could trigger in steps 3 and 5:

Quote from: The REG
1. Add the numbers of the Enhancements in battle to the characters that used them. If this results in negative toughness for any characters, discard them.
2. Determine the outcome of the battle. Discard all characters that are being discarded based on the strength and toughness comparison. Discard all Enhancements that no longer have a character that can use them in battle.
3. Activate all effects that trigger based on the result of the battle.
4. If the battle was ever a rescue attempt and it has not already been successful, determine the result of the rescue attempt. If the battle was never a rescue attempt and only a battle challenge, determine the result of the battle challenge. Determine the result of the block.If the rescue attempt is successful, the defender surrenders a Lost Soul.
5. Activate all effects and game rules that trigger based on the success/failure of the rescue attempt, battle challenge, block, or the end of the battle.
6. If any characters that remain in battle came from another battle, they return to that battle and retain any Enhancements used by them.
7. Any warrior class characters in battle not currently equipped with a weapon class Enhancement may be equipped with an unequipped weapon class Enhancement in battle - current controller's choice. Discard all Enhancements in battle that are not placed or equipped. Any characters that remain in battle are returned to the territory of the player that has permanent control.
« Last Edit: February 04, 2019, 01:04:39 PM by Josh »
You had me at Meat Tornado.

Online Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1719
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #6 on: February 05, 2019, 01:07:33 PM »
0
The difference between decrease and losing by numbers is that the game rule caused by decrease is directly triggered by the opponent's ability while losing by numbers is a part of battle resolution.

Offline Asahel24601

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 632
  • #MakeRedGreatAgain
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #7 on: February 05, 2019, 04:25:17 PM »
0
#4

The problem with Idols of Canaan's "Limit once" restriction is that once you make a conversion, Idols of Canaan is discarded by game rule.  So no chance for reset shenanigans.
But then any card that can grab an idol from discard can grab it and do it again. Some of them can even force them active.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3035
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Random Questions
« Reply #8 on: February 06, 2019, 08:07:50 AM »
0
#4

The problem with Idols of Canaan's "Limit once" restriction is that once you make a conversion, Idols of Canaan is discarded by game rule.  So no chance for reset shenanigans.
But then any card that can grab an idol from discard can grab it and do it again. Some of them can even force them active.

I'll call what you describe as a recur shenanigan, not a reset shenanigan  ;)  But good to point out
You had me at Meat Tornado.