Author Topic: Protection across turns  (Read 87 times)

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1575
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Protection across turns
« on: May 12, 2019, 04:08:20 PM »
0
When a character is protected from another character, they are also protected from enhancements played by that character. Does this include enhancements that were placed in territory on previous tuns? Is it relevant if the character that originally played it is still in play?

Ex. 1.
Player A plays Slayer's Glee off Gibeonite Delegates, and places it on them. Several turns later, Player B attacks with Thaddeus, with eight Disciples in play. Can A discard Slayer's Glee and Delegates to underdeck Thaddeus, or does Thaddeus's protection stop it from working?
Spoiler: Slayer's Glee (hover to show)
Spoiler: Gibeonite Delegates (hover to show)
Spoiler: Thaddeus (hover to show)

Ex. 2
As Ex.1, but after playing Slayer's Glee off Gibeonite Delegates, A places it on Lot's Wife instead. Gibeonite Delegates is then discarded from territory. Several turns later, B attacks with Thaddeus with a value of 8. Does it make a difference that the character who played Slayer's Glee is no longer in play?
Spoiler: Lot's Wife (hover to show)

Ex. 3
As Ex.1, but player A controls the Wicked soul. IIRC, placed TC enhancements are played both when first placed and when manually activated. Assuming Thaddeus was protected in Ex.1, would using Slayer's Glee (which is outside of battle) be regardless of protection if it is used before any other EEs in battle?
Spoiler: Wicked Lost Soul (hover to show)

Ex. 4
Player C plays Protection of Jerusalem off of Seraph. Several turns later, C attacks with an OT hero. Player D blocks with King of Tyrus (PoC) which has Wings of Calamity placed on it; KoT is protected from OT heroes, CBN. Since an evil character in battle, C uses Nahum in territory to discard an Assyrian in his territory to add Nahum to battle. Since C has discarded an Assyrian, he gets to negate and discard an evil card. Is KoT protected from Protection of Jerusalem?
Spoiler: Protection of Jerusalem (hover to show)
Spoiler: King of Tyrus (hover to show)
Spoiler: Wings of Calamity (hover to show)
Spoiler: Nahum (hover to show)
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Protection across turns
« Reply #1 on: May 12, 2019, 04:29:59 PM »
+1
#3. Placed Enhancements are NOT played when manually activated. If you played Slayer's Glee as the first Enhancement in a previous battle, it would remain RoP while placed, though.

Placed Enhancements are "used by" a character when played and placed. They remain used by that character until they are reset. So, the others should be:

1. Thaddeus' protection stops it from working.
2. Thaddeus' protection stops it from working. The protected cards have to be in play (or the listed locations). The cards they are protected from can be anywhere.
4. KoT is protected from PoJ.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1575
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Protection across turns
« Reply #2 on: May 12, 2019, 06:13:06 PM »
0
Cool, good to know.
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.