Author Topic: PoC2 Questions  (Read 206 times)

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
PoC2 Questions
« on: April 17, 2019, 11:30:15 AM »
0
A couple of these are just making sure I understand exactly how the game rules work, but others are actually interesting interactions.

1. If you have multiple Pharaoh's Servants in play, can you release one captured hero to add them all to battle?

Spoiler: Pharaoh's Servants (hover to show)

2. Who chooses which part of King Tiglath-Pileser III's first ability happens? The write-up in the Land of Redemption article seems to indicate that the opponent in question chooses, but I'd like to confirm that.

Spoiler: King Tiglath-Pileser III (hover to show)

3. Still on TP3, though it works for a handful of other cards:
Say the opponent attacks with an OT FBTN hero (and I don't have any way to make my stuff CBP/N). I block with TP3 holding Two Thousand Horses. Using the second part of TP3's ability, I activate Asherah Pole from reserve, making my enhancements CBN.
Does 2kH activate? I know that cards can't gain or lose modifiers like CBN status after they're played, but when is it considered "played" - when it enters battle equipped on TP3 (and there's nothing granting it CBanything), or when it actually gets a chance to activate (after Asherah Pole is active)?

Spoiler: Asherah Pole (hover to show)

4. When do you lose control of a character that is being discarded? If my only major prophet is being discarded, can The Angel of His Presence heal him, or do I not meet the condition of controlling the prophet?

Spoiler: The Angel of His Presence (hover to show)

5. For purposes of Treacherous Land, what exactly is considered "playing" a multi-brigade card? I assume that attacking with a multi-brigade hero from territory isn't, but how about banding to one from hand or exchanging with one in a different location?

Spoiler: Treacherous Land (hover to show)

6. May apply to some other cards. I know that once the Serpent blocks, the restriction can be negated if he stays in play (even if he's not in battle). Is it similar with Profane Daughters, or is it different because it's not tied to another ability?
6b. Does Profane Daughters' "If block is successful" only activate if she's still in play after battle? For example, would it activate if I successfully block using her and Death of Unrighteous?

Spoiler: Profane Daughters (hover to show)
Spoiler: Death of Unrighteous (hover to show)

7. If the first enhancement played after he enters battle is a Daniel enhancement, does Meshach prevent the second?

Spoiler: Meshach (Mishael) (hover to show)

8. Can Fiery Furnace discard captured humans you don't control (i.e. those in your opponent's LoB)?

Spoiler: Fiery Furnace (hover to show)

9. Say that Nebuchadnezzar as a hero attacks and, once blocked, is targeted by Gold Shield and converted to blue. He survives the battle. After battle, does he return to his face value purple/white?

Spoiler: Nebuchadnezzar (hover to show)
Quote from: REG, pg 30
●If the active identity of a dual icon card has a convert effect that converts to the name or type of the inactive identity, the convert effect swaps the active identity of the card.
●If the active identity of a dual icon card is converted by a convert effect other than its own effect, it retains the characteristics of the active identity that are not changed and does not swap identities.


Continued in another post because it doesn't seem to want to load any more images...

EDIT: Wow, those imgur images are enormous, huh? Guess that's what you get for using HD images in your post. Replaced them all from the spoiler thread, except the ones that have seen relevant ability change (looking at you, Fiery Furnace).
« Last Edit: April 17, 2019, 01:10:30 PM by Bobbert »
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: PoC2 Questions
« Reply #1 on: April 17, 2019, 11:30:31 AM »
0
10. Say that my opponent plays Eternal Judgement on a non-Daniel character during his discard phase (and it's the last enhancement he plays on his turn). During my next preparation phase, I attempt to play a TC enhancement, which he negates with Eternal Judgement, giving it to me. Assuming I have a character to do so, can I then play Eternal Judgement as the opposite alignment, negating his last played enhancement (that same Eternal Judgement)?

Spoiler: Eternal Judgement (hover to show)

11. Say that I target a TC evil character that doesn't target heroes with Outpouring. It retains its ability through the convert, but is that ability still negated for the rest of the phase?
11b. If so, does the negate have to "reactivate" once the convert goes through? Would it take CBI or CBP for the new hero to retain its ability?

Spoiler: Outpouring (hover to show)

EDIT: more reasonably sized images
« Last Edit: April 17, 2019, 12:50:02 PM by Bobbert »
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: PoC2 Questions
« Reply #2 on: April 17, 2019, 01:37:18 PM »
+1
Simple answers, because I'm on mobile. I'll come back and add more later.

1. No. You need to pay the cost each time you want to get the benefit. And the limit once per turn would limit you to one add even if you usually could get multiple benefits off one cost.

2. The opponent in question. The player mentioned (or you if none is mentioned) chooses the action that gets carried out, usually.

4. You should be able to heal as the heal inserts before the discard completes.

5. Heroes are played when they enter battle from territory, as well as from any other location. All of those look like valid triggers to me.

7. No.

8. Yes.

9. No. Gold Shield is permanent, and Nebby's covert would default to his current brigade since he's already a Hero.

10. No. Everything on EJ is instant and would be CBN at that point. Even within the same phase, it should be covered by "a negate can't negate itself", even though it's 2 instances of the same ability.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2019, 04:32:14 PM by RedemptionAggie »

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: PoC2 Questions
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2019, 01:48:14 PM »
0
5. Heroes are played when they enter battle from territory, as well as from any other location. All of those look like valid triggers to me.

Interesting - I didn't realize that simply entering battle from territory was considered "played". I take it weapons do as well, then. What about placed enhancements? IIRC Isaiah doesn't make his Call CBN when he enters battle, so I assume that things like that, Wheel, and Armor/Fruit don't count.
« Last Edit: April 17, 2019, 02:06:21 PM by Bobbert »
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: PoC2 Questions
« Reply #4 on: April 17, 2019, 04:51:03 PM »
+1
5. Heroes are played when they enter battle from territory, as well as from any other location. All of those look like valid triggers to me.

Interesting - I didn't realize that simply entering battle from territory was considered "played". I take it weapons do as well, then. What about placed enhancements? IIRC Isaiah doesn't make his Call CBN when he enters battle, so I assume that things like that, Wheel, and Armor/Fruit don't count.

Quote from: REG>Glossary>Play
A card is considered “played”if it meets these criteria:
•You play an Enhancement when it is used by a character, unless it is being used by a character in battle because the previous character to use it has been removed from battle.
•You play a character or rainbow Site by putting it in your territory or your side of the battle.
•You play any other card type by putting it face up on the playing surface from hand, deck, Reserve, Artifact pile or discard pile due to your ability or game action, except when you discard a card from hand.

Quote from: REG>Glossary>Used By
An Enhancement is used by a character when one of the following is true:
•the Enhancement is equipped to a character that enters battle
•the Enhancement was placed on the character with a triggered play effect
•the Enhancement is moved from a location or being held onto the character unless:
--the Enhancement is a weapon being equipped to a character in a territory OR
--the Enhancement is being placed by an ability
•the Enhancement was used by a character that has been removed from battle and can be used by another character on the same side of the battle

When an Enhancement is used by a character, the special ability on it activates unless it is being used by a character in battle because the previous character to use it has been removed from battle. When an Enhancement is used by a character, that character gains the benefit of the numbers on the Enhancement.

Placed Enhancements do not usually get replayed. I think the only exceptions are with the older cards that place an Enhancement on the character and then play those Enhancement when the character enters battle.



3. According to the "Used By" entry quoted above, a weapon is used (and therefore played) when the character it is equipped to enters battle, which means 2kH is played before Asherah Pole is activated. So 2kH wouldn't activate.

6. Looks like it works like negating The Serpent to me.
6b. The restrict is mandatory, so it works if she is no longer in play. It would not work if it was optional.

11. I think the negate persists through the rest of the phase and doesn't have to reactivate. This is the answer I'm least confident on, so I'd wait for another Elder to chime in.