Author Topic: PoC Q's  (Read 183 times)

Offline TheHobbit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5138
    • -
    • North Central Region
PoC Q's
« on: January 27, 2019, 02:07:38 PM »
0
In general, when a card says "reserve it" does that mean you send said card to the owner's reserve or the player's?

How does Haman's Boasting work in special initiative?  If a am being removed of course I can ItB and d3 but then do I get to use the first sentence of the ability also?

How does Babylonian Merchants ability work in SI? If am being forced into SI by an enhancement can I go get an interrupt from reserve? Or just when the I let the ability fully resolve (passing SI)?
Not only is SilencedMatrix a Redemption champion, he's a sports guru too!

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11862
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: PoC Q's
« Reply #1 on: January 27, 2019, 02:47:58 PM »
0
In general, when a card says "reserve it" does that mean you send said card to the owner's reserve or the player's?

How does Haman's Boasting work in special initiative?  If a am being removed of course I can ItB and d3 but then do I get to use the first sentence of the ability also?

How does Babylonian Merchants ability work in SI? If am being forced into SI by an enhancement can I go get an interrupt from reserve? Or just when the I let the ability fully resolve (passing SI)?

1. Just like when an ability says "Shuffle a card" it defaults to the owner's deck, "Reserve a card" defaults to the owner's Reserve.

2. I believe so, but I would need to confirm.

3. You cannot go get an interrupt from Reserve. If you pass on SI, then Merchants would no longer be in battle to satisfy the "while in battle" requirement.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Master Q

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1111
  • Fearless #BanSam
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: PoC Q's
« Reply #2 on: January 27, 2019, 02:53:22 PM »
0
Instapost with Justin, but a few things:

I don't think Boasting's search would work in SI. Just the interrupt, draw, and maybe play. Depending on what's played, then you might get to search. Not really sure how that resolves. -Defer to Justin on this point if I'm not correct (entirely possible).

Since BM is an optional search it would not trigger if BM would be removed on passing SI. Example - BM blocks Justin Martyr. Justin plays Overcome to discard BM. BM would not get to search since it is no longer in play. BM would not trigger after the fact even if Overcome was negated that battle since the window for BM's search has passed. The opponent would have to play something like Fifth Seal or Angelic Guidance or whatever else that doesn't force SI.
Absentmindedly glancing at this unimpressive signature fills you with determination.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11862
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: PoC Q's
« Reply #3 on: January 27, 2019, 03:56:24 PM »
0
You might be right on the Boasting question--I would defer to Aggie.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline TheHobbit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5138
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: PoC Q's
« Reply #4 on: January 27, 2019, 04:11:38 PM »
0
I think Boasting would work because in SI you can play a card that will I/P/N and part of playing the card is activating its entire ability.
Not only is SilencedMatrix a Redemption champion, he's a sports guru too!

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2845
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: PoC Q's
« Reply #5 on: January 27, 2019, 04:51:03 PM »
0
The rules only say you can play an Enhancement that will interrupt or negate, not that it has to be the first thing the card does. That's kind of implied, but would mean something like Priests Scapegoat (banish to negate) doesn't work in SI.

I think the current ruling is that SI suspends the removing ability, Boasting is played, searches, then interrupt/draw 3/play.

In theory, I agree with everyone else that it should be interrupt/draw/play, then search if appropriate.


Offline TheHobbit

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 5138
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: PoC Q's
« Reply #6 on: January 27, 2019, 06:34:49 PM »
0
I mean in theory... but I don't see any reason why you wouldn't activate the ability in the order written on the card. SI allows you to play it, I don't see anything that implies you have to interrupt first.
Not only is SilencedMatrix a Redemption champion, he's a sports guru too!