Author Topic: Ongoing negate vs CBP Interrupt the battle  (Read 76 times)

Offline Eragon5

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 220
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Ongoing negate vs CBP Interrupt the battle
« on: January 08, 2019, 09:09:10 PM »
0
For the sake of making sure I'm not incorrect in how I ruled this I have a question.

How does interrupt the battle interact with ongoing negate enhancement effects.
The example I ran into today was something along the lines of some babylonian bands to Nebuchadnezzar who can add an OT crimson card from deck. Midianite attack was added negating all enhancements except banding, battle is determined by numbers. David plays some enhancement (can't remember the name) that interrupts the battle. Ignore evil characters. CBP.
Since interrupt the battle suspends the last card played plus ongoing effects, it should suspend midianite attack and then the ignore kicks in. However, midianite attack reactivates negating the ignore. Thus was my logic.
My brothers logic was only the ongoing part of midianite attack is interrupted  and therefore the ignore sticks on reactivation and the interrupt never reactivates.
Was I incorrect?
Also would the situation change if midianite attack was not the last card played?
Sorry if this post is confusing, not feeling too well today.
Thanks in advance for any/all help
Love the Lord your God with all your heart, with all your soul, and all your strength.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2796
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Ongoing negate vs CBP Interrupt the battle
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2019, 09:18:43 PM »
0
When a negate all is interrupted, only the ongoing prevent part of the negate all reactivates. So the ignore works.

This has been the case since at least Kings with The Rabshakeh/2KHorses/battle winner vs. FBTN Heroes.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2945
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Ongoing negate vs CBP Interrupt the battle
« Reply #2 on: January 09, 2019, 08:17:43 AM »
0
When a negate all is interrupted, only the ongoing prevent part of the negate all reactivates. So the ignore works.

The problem in this example is that Midianite Attack is the last card played and it was played by your opponent.  That's a separate item of the 3 things that "Interrupt the battle" interrupts:
     1. All ongoing abilities in battle
     2. Any abilities in battle causing special initiative
     3. The last card played in battle, if it was played by your opponent

Midianite Attack's ongoing Prevent ability falls under category 1, but the whole enhancement falls under category 3.  So I think Midianite Attack's whole ability would be interrupted, including the instant Negate ability. 

Seems to me that Midianite Attack would reactivate and Negate Faith of Moses' Parents? 
You had me at Meat Tornado.