Author Topic: Negating abilities and conditions  (Read 127 times)

Offline Cornel

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • North Central Region
Negating abilities and conditions
« on: December 30, 2018, 04:07:59 PM »
0
Just wondering, if a card with a triggered ability is active, does it need to be interrupted or just discarded.

1) For example, if Bob has Chariot of Fire (artifact) active while attacking, and John wants to negate it before the end of battle, what does he need to play if he has both Mask of Self Glorification and Destruction of Nehushtan in hand.
Is Chariot of Fire an active ability, or an ability waiting to activate based on when the condition ("After your rescue attempt") is satisfied.

2)Bob activates Hidden Treasures in his prep phase, then John wants to negate it before battle by playing Three Woes. Is Hidden treasures an active ability, or an ability waiting to activate based on when the condition ("When your lone green brigade prophet enters battle") is satisfied. If it is an active ability, can it even be interrupted, as play abilities inherently cannot be interrupted?

Interrupt from the reg: "An interrupt effect temporarily undoes and suspends active or completed abilities.."
Chariot of Fire (play as): "After your rescue attempt, shuffle all Heroes from discard pile into deck"
Hidden Treasures: "Once per turn, if your lone green brigade prophet begins a battle, you may play an enhancement or discard an evil enhancement in opponent's deck."
Mask of Self-Glorification: "Discard one active artifact"
Destruction of Nehushtan (play as): "Discard and negate an Artifact."

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2811
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Negating abilities and conditions
« Reply #1 on: December 30, 2018, 04:30:10 PM »
+1
1) Chariot of Fire is an active ability with a triggered effect (the shuffle). Because the triggered effect is mandatory, it persists until the end of the phase even if the card is discarded, so it needs to be interrupted/negated, not just discarded.

2) Hidden Treasures is also an active ability with a triggered effect. However, because the triggered effect is optional, it does not persist until the end of the phase if the card is discarded, so if it is discarded before it you can use the effect you don't get to use the effect.

On the CBI, I am of the opinion that the rule is supposed to be that play abilities are CBI after you play the Enhancement.