Author Topic: Limit once abilities  (Read 138 times)

Offline GreatGray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • -
    • North Central Region
Limit once abilities
« on: May 06, 2019, 04:03:39 PM »
0
Hey all, I got a question.
Idols of Canaan: "If a black Canaanite is in a territory, you may convert a Hero in that territory to black. Limit once"
Holy Grail has a "Limit twice per game" identifier, and Jepthah (J) has "Once per game" in his special ability.
Back to Idols, is there a difference between Limit x vs. Limit x per game in abilities? In other words, is the "Limit once" a "Limit once per game" or a "Limit once" to that specific copy of a card?
Thank you for the clarification!
Nathan L.

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10203
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #1 on: May 06, 2019, 04:10:06 PM »
0
Quote from: REG>Modifier Listing>Limit>How to Play
The modification from a usage limit lasts until the end of timeframe for the limit, or until the card is reset to
face value if no timeframe is specified.

To elaborate a little on what the REG is saying there, cards that are limited "per game" do not reset that limit no matter what happens to them. Cards with no duration can be reset by being returned to face value (in discard pile, deck, hand, etc.).
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline GreatGray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #2 on: May 06, 2019, 04:11:50 PM »
0
Does that mean cards like 24 Elders and Shrine to Artemis can "reset" Idols of Canaan?

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2912
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #3 on: May 06, 2019, 04:18:05 PM »
0
No, because Idols of Canaan gets discarded when you first use the limited ability.

Quote from: REG>Limit>Special Conditions
If an Artifact or Site has a usage limit that is “per game”or with no specified end, it is discarded after the last use. If an Artifact or Site with a “per game”  usage limit is played after the limit has been reached, it is immediately discarded.

"Limit once" has no specified end. "Limit once per turn" has a specified end and would not be discarded when used.



Offline GreatGray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #4 on: May 06, 2019, 04:30:22 PM »
0
Thank you for the clarification!

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3089
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #5 on: May 06, 2019, 04:34:00 PM »
0
Does that mean cards like 24 Elders and Shrine to Artemis can "reset" Idols of Canaan?

No, but Outsiders (Brown/Crimson) and First Bowl of Wrath can
You had me at Meat Tornado.

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2723
  • Don't worry. Koalas are still cool.
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #6 on: May 06, 2019, 07:04:08 PM »
0
Considering you're mainly a Type 2 player, it's probably also good to clarify that "X per game" limits apply across all copies of the card so there can only ever be two Holy Grail triggers per player per game even if you have more than one copy in the deck. Conversely, you could use three copies of Idols of Canaan all three times plus however many times you can recur them.

Does that mean cards like 24 Elders and Shrine to Artemis can "reset" Idols of Canaan?

No, but Outsiders (Brown/Crimson) and First Bowl of Wrath can
I just got an idea for a new deck...
Fortress Alstad

Offline GreatGray

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 134
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Limit once abilities
« Reply #7 on: May 06, 2019, 11:25:45 PM »
0

I just got an idea for a new deck...
[/quote]
That's fun, I think I might have the same thing in mind!
Also, thank you everyone for the clarifications!
Nathan L.