Author Topic: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption  (Read 277 times)

Offline SignoftheStar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Phillippians 4:8
    • -
    • East Central Region
    • My YouTube Page
Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« on: January 08, 2019, 04:59:25 PM »
0
In the past, I'd always seen it ruled that Lampstand of the Sanctuary protected against old Falling Away. Is this still true?

Lampstand of the Sanctuary Play-As: "Protect cards not in battle from evil Dominants."

Lampstand sort of specifies the locations it targets by targeting cards "not in battle". As it specifies a location, does it not default to "in play" and therefore protect hand/deck/discard pile/Reserve/set-aside/Land of Redemption?
The core of all life is a limitless chest of tales.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #1 on: January 08, 2019, 05:10:18 PM »
0
Quote from: REG>Glossary>Not in Battle
Cards “not in battle” are cards found in (1) territories, (2) set aside areas and (3) Lands of Redemption.

Offline SignoftheStar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Phillippians 4:8
    • -
    • East Central Region
    • My YouTube Page
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #2 on: January 08, 2019, 05:12:21 PM »
0
Oh.

Well that was surprisingly written out in plain sight now wasn't it?
The core of all life is a limitless chest of tales.

Offline SignoftheStar

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 409
  • Phillippians 4:8
    • -
    • East Central Region
    • My YouTube Page
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #3 on: January 08, 2019, 05:13:03 PM »
0
Oh but so it doesn't protect hand or deck.
Isn't that interesting.
The core of all life is a limitless chest of tales.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12095
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #4 on: January 08, 2019, 05:23:44 PM »
0
Oh but so it doesn't protect hand or deck.
Isn't that interesting.

Correct--Lampstand does not protect your hand from cards like Vain Philosophy or Mayhem.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Cnakeeyes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 287
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #5 on: January 08, 2019, 07:04:22 PM »
0
Is that entry from during battle?

If not how can your hand and deck be in battle when you are not in battle phase and no battle is taking place.

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
    • East Central Region
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #6 on: January 08, 2019, 07:24:52 PM »
0
Is that entry from during battle?

If not how can your hand and deck be in battle when you are not in battle phase and no battle is taking place.

The implication is that “cards not in battle” refers to cards that are in play.  EDIT: (or set aside)

Since neither your hand nor deck are cards in play, they would not be included as cards “not in battle” either.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #7 on: January 08, 2019, 07:26:27 PM »
0
That entry is for "Not in battle".

Cards in the current battle are "in battle".
Cards in territories, set-aside areas, and LoRs are "not in battle".
Everything else is neither.

Is that entry from during battle?

If not how can your hand and deck be in battle when you are not in battle phase and no battle is taking place.

The implication is that “cards not in battle” refers to cards that are in play.

Since neither your hand nor deck are cards in play, they would not be included as cards “not in battle” either.

Not cards in play, exactly, more like on the table/board.

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 397
    • East Central Region
Re: Lampstand and the Land of Redemption
« Reply #8 on: January 08, 2019, 07:28:36 PM »
0
Looks like you caught it right before I made the edit. I realized my mistake in wording as soon as I hit post.