Author Topic: Lahmi's Spear (again?)  (Read 459 times)

Offline Reth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 436
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« on: February 13, 2018, 05:34:48 PM »
0
Hi again,

maybe this has been asked/ruled already - but could not find it yet.

First question: When an EC warrior (Saph in this case) equipped with spear enters battle can spear immediatelly be discarded to DC the opposing hero?
2nd question:  If 1st question is true - can an interrupt enhancement be played on that opposing hero before it is going to be discarded in order to get maybe a CBP/CBN enhancement out?

Thanks for your help!

Bye

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1296
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 05:40:27 PM »
+1
1. REG has a detailed ability order but the important basic part is weapons activate immediately when the equipped character enters battle. In this example the only time you possible could activate the weapon is the instant it enters battle.

2. Yes it triggers special initiative just like any other enhancement would.

Offline Reth

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 436
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 06:40:25 PM »
0
Thank you! In that particular example I did so and luckily drew AotL!  ;D

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2657
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2018, 08:06:12 PM »
0
If you interrupted Lahmi's Spear and drew AotL, you couldn't play it before the interrupt ended, so your character would still get discarded. You'd need to get rid of Saph or the spear with an Enhancement before the interrupt ended.

Also, Saph would prevent the first Enhancement played - so the Enhancement that interrupts has to be CBP/CBN, not the Enhancement you play after it.

Offline YeshuaIsLord

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 92
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
    • My Facebook
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #4 on: March 12, 2018, 02:34:20 PM »
0
The 4th ed. Rulebook says if you're loosing by special ability or removal in general you can only play a card that negates. If I play a card that only interrupts but doesn't negate would that still work?

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1296
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #5 on: March 12, 2018, 02:40:31 PM »
0
The 4th ed. Rulebook says if you're loosing by special ability or removal in general you can only play a card that negates. If I play a card that only interrupts but doesn't negate would that still work?

Yes you can play a card only interrupts during SI. You still can't do something like playing a dominant during the interrupt though.

Offline KoalaKing

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2631
  • Personal Text
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #6 on: March 12, 2018, 02:42:25 PM »
0
+1 The REG is a little more clear with this, specifying that you can play an enhancement that either interrupts and/or negates the removing ability.
Fortress Alstad

Offline JonathanW

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 299
  • Loading...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #7 on: March 12, 2018, 04:03:48 PM »
0
The 4th ed. Rulebook says if you're loosing by special ability or removal in general you can only play a card that negates. If I play a card that only interrupts but doesn't negate would that still work?

Yes you can play a card only interrupts during SI. You still can't do something like playing a dominant during the interrupt though.

Unless it's Three Woes  ::)
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11066
  • Are you ready for The Fall?
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #8 on: March 12, 2018, 04:07:13 PM »
0
Three Woes can't be used in SI. A card like Day of Fury or Deceit of Sapphira are examples of cards that cause SI that would not be targetable by Three Woes since they remove themselves from play.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline tripleplayNa1

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 446
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #9 on: March 12, 2018, 04:09:34 PM »
0
Well three woes could be used to negate a card after the effect has been completed but that's after SI anyways.
(\__/) This is a bunny.
(='.'=) I know it's cute.
(")_(")

#CascadeDelendaEst

Offline JonathanW

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 299
  • Loading...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #10 on: March 12, 2018, 04:13:28 PM »
0
Well, that's not very intuitive lol...
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11066
  • Are you ready for The Fall?
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #11 on: March 12, 2018, 04:16:08 PM »
0
Well, that's not very intuitive lol...

But it is spelled out pretty clearly in the rules for Special Initiative.  ;)
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline JonathanW

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 299
  • Loading...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #12 on: March 12, 2018, 04:18:38 PM »
0
Well, that's not very intuitive lol...

But it is spelled out pretty clearly in the rules for Special Initiative.  ;)

It's funny how some rules exist just so specific cards aren't more powerful than they already are lol...
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Offline tripleplayNa1

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 446
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #13 on: March 12, 2018, 04:20:53 PM »
0
well it would be incredibly bad to not have special initiative because then any card that gets rid the last character in battle would be impossible to stop except by some outside influence like gam's speech or three woes.
(\__/) This is a bunny.
(='.'=) I know it's cute.
(")_(")

#CascadeDelendaEst

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1296
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #14 on: March 12, 2018, 04:21:17 PM »
0
Well, that's not very intuitive lol...

But it is spelled out pretty clearly in the rules for Special Initiative.  ;)

It's funny how some rules exist just so specific cards aren't more powerful than they already are lol...

The rule has been this way long before Three Woes existed.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11066
  • Are you ready for The Fall?
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #15 on: March 12, 2018, 04:21:30 PM »
0
That rule predates Three Woes...by a long time...
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline JonathanW

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 299
  • Loading...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #16 on: March 12, 2018, 04:22:45 PM »
0
That rule predates Three Woes...by a long time...


no no no. I'm not talking about SI, I'm talking about dominants not being able to be used in SI :P
(\__/)
(='.'=)
(")_(")

Offline tripleplayNa1

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 446
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #17 on: March 12, 2018, 04:23:52 PM »
0
Was there ever a time when dominants could be used during SI?
(\__/) This is a bunny.
(='.'=) I know it's cute.
(")_(")

#CascadeDelendaEst

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11066
  • Are you ready for The Fall?
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #18 on: March 12, 2018, 04:30:56 PM »
0
Nope.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline YeshuaIsLord

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 92
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
    • My Facebook
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #19 on: March 12, 2018, 09:51:35 PM »
0
Okay so given that my enemy plays a card that discards my character if I would interrupt the battle and play a card that discards his character (on which the enh that discards me is played) would that work?
What would the outcome be if the exact same thing was taking place with withdrawal or a mixture of both scenarios?

Thanks for the help!

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11066
  • Are you ready for The Fall?
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #20 on: March 12, 2018, 09:56:14 PM »
+1
Yes, that would work assuming the card your opponent played was not "Cannot be interrupted" or "Cannot be negated" in which case, you cannot use an interrupt or a negate.

That would be true for any type of card that targeted your character to be removed from battle. Keep in mind, the "special initiative" situation only applies when your last character is being removed from battle.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline YeshuaIsLord

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 92
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
    • My Facebook
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #21 on: March 12, 2018, 10:02:45 PM »
0
Yes, that would work assuming the card your opponent played was not "Cannot be interrupted" or "Cannot be negated" in which case, you cannot use an interrupt or a negate.

That would be true for any type of card that targeted your character to be removed from battle. Keep in mind, the "special initiative" situation only applies when your last character is being removed from battle.
Thanks  :) :thumbup:

Offline Watchman492

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1383
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #22 on: March 13, 2018, 10:36:42 AM »
0
Well three woes could be used to negate a card after the effect has been completed but that's after SI anyways.

So if my opponent played Fiery Darts and discarded my sole hero in battle, the battle’s not over if I chose to play Three Woes and negate Fiery Darts (since FD is still in play), correct? I never thought of using Three Woes after SI was over because I was thinking it was too late but it’s not because I can still play that dominant to negate (only if the card with the removing ability is still in play, that is). Good to know.
Need Redemption? Visit Your Turn Games today!

Offline Red Wing

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2224
  • Boring conversation anyway…
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Lahmi's Spear (again?)
« Reply #23 on: March 13, 2018, 10:51:54 AM »
0
Well three woes could be used to negate a card after the effect has been completed but that's after SI anyways.

So if my opponent played Fiery Darts and discarded my sole hero in battle, the battle’s not over if I chose to play Three Woes and negate Fiery Darts (since FD is still in play), correct?
Yes, that is a legal play.