Author Topic: Isaiah Order and Benefitless Costs  (Read 148 times)

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Isaiah Order and Benefitless Costs
« on: December 12, 2018, 10:48:03 AM »
0
Just making sure I understand these correctly, before it becomes an issue:

Isaiah (PoC): "...If Isaiah uses a * card, you may activate its * ability. ..."

The * ability would activate after the normal ability of the enhancement, because you only get to trigger it once Isaiah's used the enhancement, correct? This could be relevant for cards such as The Coming Prince.



Can Nahum still discard an Assyrian (for purposes of Protection of Jerusalem) when he's already in battle? I would think so, because IIRC you can always pay a cost even if you can't get the benefit, but I want to be sure.
« Last Edit: December 12, 2018, 10:53:46 AM by Bobbert »
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2945
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Isaiah Order and Benefitless Costs
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2018, 12:06:57 PM »
0
Just making sure I understand these correctly, before it becomes an issue:

Isaiah (PoC): "...If Isaiah uses a * card, you may activate its * ability. ..."

The * ability would activate after the normal ability of the enhancement, because you only get to trigger it once Isaiah's used the enhancement, correct? This could be relevant for cards such as The Coming Prince.



Can Nahum still discard an Assyrian (for purposes of Protection of Jerusalem) when he's already in battle? I would think so, because IIRC you can always pay a cost even if you can't get the benefit, but I want to be sure.


Correct on both counts.

If you've used an ability, it's already activated, so the Star ability comes after the enhancement ability.

Costs can always be paid, even if you can't carry out the benefit.
You had me at Meat Tornado.