Author Topic: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....  (Read 138 times)

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« on: May 21, 2019, 12:38:33 PM »
0
A "take an opponents character to territory" (I don't remember which card did it) was used and took my AutO during their Prep phase. The question came up about whether or not they can exchange my AutO to their deck for a gold Judge during Battle phase when there is an AutO in their deck.

From the REG:
No player may control duplicates of a unique character or cause them to fight each other.
This includes unique characters in play, in battle, in a side battle, face down, or in a set-aside
area. Unique character cards with the same card title and the same art or with the same title
and the same brigade are considered duplicates for deck building purposes; a player may
have only control one of these at any time.
Players are restricted from performing optional game rules that would result in a player
controlling multiple copies of the same unique card. A card is protected from any ability that
would cause that card to become a second copy of a unique card controlled by a single
player. If a player does end up controlling multiple copies of a unique card, all copies of that
card except the original copy are discarded regardless of protection or immunity.


I would think using the SA would happen up until MY AutO is attempting to put into their deck for the exchange with THEIR AutO still in their deck. I reason that one of them will be discarded, but which one? My AutO for being the "original" one in play or their AutO for being "original" to their deck? Or am I way off on this?

Godspeed,
Mike

@Reth - correct me if I missed anything on setting up the scenario
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2934
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #1 on: May 21, 2019, 12:48:04 PM »
0
Neither gets discarded. The second sentence of that section of the REG lists locations it applies and doesn't include deck (or any of the piles).

Also, since cards can't be in decks other than their owner's, your AUTO doesn't exactly enter your opponent's deck.
« Last Edit: May 21, 2019, 12:53:33 PM by RedemptionAggie »

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #2 on: May 21, 2019, 12:54:28 PM »
0
so until an AutO is put back into play and then a second AutO by the same controller is attempted to be put into play that controller can have both of them correct?

Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1942
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #3 on: May 21, 2019, 01:03:48 PM »
0
so until an AutO is put back into play and then a second AutO by the same controller is attempted to be put into play that controller can have both of them correct?

Godspeed,
Mike

You can't have his Auto and your Auto in play, in battle, in a side battle, face down, or in your set-aside area if you control (and control is defined as the aforementioned locations) one or the other already.  So long as you don't have your Auto in any of those aforementioned locations you can control your opponent's Auto, and also exchange him to your deck for your judge, but that Auto ends up back in your opponent's deck once the exchange is made and not in your deck.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #4 on: May 21, 2019, 01:16:37 PM »
0
To keep this clear - My opponent has control of my AutO in their Territory. Their AutO is still in their deck. They exchange my AutO to their deck for a gold Judge. My AutO, they control, SA completes as normal with exception of, it doesn't stay in their deck after the exchange, but returns to my deck? Am I following correctly on this?


Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline kram1138

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 429
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #5 on: May 21, 2019, 01:23:55 PM »
0
Basically, but the AUTO never goes to their deck. A card can't be in a draw pile or discard pile of a played that doesn't own that card. So when they "exchange" it to deck, the AUTO goes to your deck, since you own that copy of AUTO, and they search their deck for a judge.
postCount.Add(1);

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1594
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #6 on: May 21, 2019, 01:27:11 PM »
0
They can exchange to their own judge in deck, but your AUtO will be shuffled back into your deck. Similar story with Deciever - if your opponent exchanges your Deciever with an EC in his reserve, it will go to yours.

Your card will never be in an opponent's deck, reserve, or discard pile.
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #7 on: May 21, 2019, 01:29:31 PM »
0
copy that... it is clear in my head now... thanks

Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 717
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: duplicate cards because of a Take ability....
« Reply #8 on: May 21, 2019, 03:05:49 PM »
0
Thank you Mike! This was absolutely correct questioned regarding our scenario yesterday. The card I used was a Proxy for the new Remnant LS!

Looking forward to our next game!  :D