Author Topic: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?  (Read 313 times)

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 717
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
0
Hi there,

following scenario:

Leviathan (RoJ) is in territory when opponent begins a RA with Samson, the Nazirite. He discards Leviathan.
Now Behemoth is presented as blocker from hand and negates Samson so that Leviathan returns to territory.

Question is now: Does SA of Leviathan still trigger since Behemoth entered battle even though this happened when Leviathan was in discard pile?

Thanks for clarification!

Bye

Offline ArmedKevin117

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 167
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2019, 09:49:54 PM »
+1
Without the relevant abilities for reference: if Leviathan's ability triggers off the blocker entering battle, it should only trigger if it's active when the blocker enters battle.

So in this case, no it wouldn't.

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #2 on: January 06, 2019, 09:29:42 AM »
0
I don't know if this matters in this scenario, but here we go.
TC Leviathan was discarded but not negated.
Samson the Nazirite SA was negated by Behemoth.
TC Leviathan returns as if he never left.
I would have ruled Leviathan ability would have activated as the next SA to activate after Behemoth was presented.


Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12095
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #3 on: January 07, 2019, 02:33:58 PM »
+1
TC abilities are only active when the character is in territory (or battle obviously).

If a TC character is removed from territory (discarded, banished, returned to hand), it's ability simply turns off even if the removing ability did not also negate the character.

In this scenario, Samson enters battle and completes his ability. Since Leviathan has been removed from territory, his ability turns off and he would not trigger by Behemoth blocking (nor would he trigger once Behemoth negates Samson).
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 717
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #4 on: January 07, 2019, 03:04:40 PM »
0
Thanks guys!

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #5 on: January 07, 2019, 03:50:54 PM »
0
I stand corrected.

Is it true for all Territory Class that they simply turn off when discarded and don't have to be negated?

Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12095
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #6 on: January 07, 2019, 03:55:23 PM »
0
Yes (and it could be something other than discard as I mentioned above).
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline 777Godspeed

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1700
  • Breathe redemption into wasted life, Breathe deep
    • -
    • Northwest Region
Re: Does TC ability still trigger if character returns from discard?
« Reply #7 on: January 07, 2019, 04:00:02 PM »
0
Good to know for future reference, cause I was way off. Thanks.

Godspeed,
Mike
Divine mental biopsy reveals you need psychosurgery
When in doubt  D3.
I support Covenant Games.