Author Topic: Covenant of Eden  (Read 227 times)

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Covenant of Eden
« on: December 23, 2018, 10:58:40 AM »
0
Two questions: one that I don't think works (but would be fun if it did) and one that I'm actually not sure on.

Spoiler: Covenant of Eden (hover to show)

Spoiler: Book of the Covenant (hover to show)

1. Say Covenant of Eden is active on Book of the Covenant. Book protects covenants active on it from evil cards. If I play a (cbp) evil DAC, does Book protect CoE from its own trigger? I imagine not, but I could see an argument that since it's protected from evil it can't be effected even by its own ability that triggers off evil.

2. My understanding is that if CoE is, say, underdecked, the negate will last the rest of the phase but if the owner plays a DAC it won't discard, since it's no longer in play. Is that correct?
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1598
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #1 on: December 23, 2018, 12:38:32 PM »
+1
1. CoE would need to be evil for that to work. The alignment of the DAC that triggered the ability doesn't matter.

2. Yes to both. The negate will last to the end of the phase and it can't be targeted by the discard since it's not in play.

Offline Ironisaac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1570
  • Awake from the grave
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #2 on: December 23, 2018, 09:35:52 PM »
0
1. CoE would need to be evil for that to work. The alignment of the DAC that triggered the ability doesn't matter.

Even then, cards can't be protected from their own abilities, correct?

It's the year of the Mighty men!

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1598
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #3 on: December 23, 2018, 10:24:02 PM »
0
1. CoE would need to be evil for that to work. The alignment of the DAC that triggered the ability doesn't matter.

Even then, cards can't be protected from their own abilities, correct?

Apparently that rule got removed a while ago. I just found out recently myself.

Offline Ironisaac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1570
  • Awake from the grave
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #4 on: December 24, 2018, 12:20:30 AM »
+1
Really? Well... that changes things... Looks like it's time for me to go make some new stupid gimmick decks!
It's the year of the Mighty men!

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1713
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #5 on: December 24, 2018, 08:27:42 AM »
0
So that would mean Assyrian Survivor can’t use DoU on itself, correct?
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline AndyL

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 81
  • Pastor at First Baptist Church
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #6 on: December 24, 2018, 08:35:25 AM »
0
So that would mean Assyrian Survivor can’t use DoU on itself, correct?

So card's can't target themselves??? I thought some strategies were designed this way?
Gal. 2:20

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1598
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #7 on: December 24, 2018, 10:17:56 AM »
0
So that would mean Assyrian Survivor can’t use DoU on itself, correct?

Survivor is only protected from discard on opponents' cards.

Offline Josh

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2945
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Covenant of Eden
« Reply #8 on: December 26, 2018, 10:05:31 AM »
+1
So that would mean Assyrian Survivor can’t use DoU on itself, correct?

Survivor is only protected from discard on opponents' cards.

Not to mention that Survivor could use DoU regardless of whether DoU discards him.  DoU isn't cost-benefit.

For example, DoU played on Elymas the Sorceror simply shuffles all LS in your LoB - no ECs are discarded.
You had me at Meat Tornado.