Author Topic: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil  (Read 338 times)

Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« on: April 18, 2019, 09:36:23 AM »
0
If I am attempting to convert the likes of Nebuchadnezzar or Namaan using Sower, how is the brigade of the character determined?

Options I can see happening:

1. Character becomes good Gold because Sower is Gold.
2. Character becomes brigade of the enhancement placed. (or brigades if Enhancement is multicolor?)
3. Character becomes the brigade shown on the card. (white/purple for Neb, Red for Namaan)

Sower
"You may place a good Enhancement from hand on a human Evil Character. After battle, discard that Enhancement to convert that character to a Hero."
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Offline ArmedKevin117

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #1 on: April 18, 2019, 10:27:54 AM »
+1
Pretty sure the order is this:
1.  If character has a face value brigade when converted, use that.
2.  If the converting card specifies a brigade, use that.
3.  Otherwise, convert defaults to "of your choice."

Confirmation pending.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12170
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #2 on: April 18, 2019, 10:33:17 AM »
0
3.  Otherwise, convert defaults to the brigade of the converting enhancement.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #3 on: April 18, 2019, 10:41:12 AM »
0
Would it be possible to convert these kinds of characters to Heroes of a brigade they don't have on the card?  Like with Holy Grail?
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Offline ArmedKevin117

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 169
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #4 on: April 18, 2019, 10:48:08 AM »
+1
Pretty sure the order is this:
1.  If character has a face value brigade when converted, use that.
2.  If the converting card specifies a brigade, use that.
3.  Otherwise, convert defaults to "of your choice."

Confirmation pending.

1.  Semi-inaccurate.  If a dual icon card converts itself, it swaps identities.  If another card converts it, it does not.
Quote
● If the active identity of a dual icon card has a convert effect that converts to the name or type of the inactive
identity, the convert effect swaps the active identity of the card.
● If the active identity of a dual icon card is converted by a convert effect other than its own effect, it retains the
characteristics of the active identity that are not changed and does not swap identities.

2.  Accurate.
3.  Inaccurate.
Quote
● If a convert effect allows a player to choose the brigade of the card being converted, then that player must
choose an existing brigade for that card type.
● Unless otherwise specified, targets are converted to a brigade color of the card with the convert effect.

Quotes from REG:
https://www.cactusgamedesign.com/wp-content/uploads/2018/06/REG_PDF_5.1.0.pdf

Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #5 on: April 18, 2019, 11:04:34 AM »
0
I am confused.
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 415
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #6 on: April 18, 2019, 11:20:03 AM »
0
Sower would convert them to gold brigade.

REG:
Quote
Unless otherwise specified, targets are converted to a brigade color of the card with the convert effect.

Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #7 on: April 18, 2019, 12:49:06 PM »
0
Would Namaan's Servant Girl allow Nebby/King of Nineveh to be both purple and white since she says, "any brigade" ?
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #8 on: April 18, 2019, 01:33:35 PM »
0
"Any brigade" means you have to choose a single brigade. So no.

Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #9 on: April 19, 2019, 01:48:02 PM »
0
Does that mean Holy Grail converts Saul/Paul to a single brigade? That was not how it was played back in the day.
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #10 on: April 19, 2019, 02:15:44 PM »
0
Saul insteads any convert on himself to self-convert to Paul.

Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #11 on: April 19, 2019, 02:35:59 PM »
0
I see Saul/Paul has errata now, but I don't understand why other cards which convert from EC to Hero are not treated the same.
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2960
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #12 on: April 19, 2019, 03:07:30 PM »
0
Why should they be? Each character has their own requirements for converting. Saul is just weird in that he requires a convert to convert.


Online Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Converting Dual Characters that start as Evil
« Reply #13 on: April 19, 2019, 03:46:00 PM »
0
Why should they be?
Because its the same situation.  (EC becoming a Hero)
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b