Author Topic: City of Enoch questions  (Read 411 times)

Offline redemption collector 777

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
    • -
    • North Central Region
City of Enoch questions
« on: August 14, 2018, 02:32:42 PM »
0
City of Enoch SA fortress: While Occupied , protect opponent's Heroes from other Heroes.

Noah SA: you may exchange a card in hand or territory with a human of matching brigade (or 2 flood survivors) in deck or discard pile

Not exactly sure what the special ability on City of Enoch implies??



Example:

 Player A has city of Enoch occupied and player B has one green hero and one blue hero in their territory.

1. Would the green hero be protected from the blue hero in their own territory??  (this question might have been bought up on the forums somewhere)

2. Would player B's heroes be protected from Player A's heroes??

3. Would this protect opponent's heroes (including their own) from placing enhancements, exchanging in territory  , banding and other abilities (like Noah's exchange ability??)

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #1 on: August 14, 2018, 02:35:16 PM »
+1
Here's a different way of wording the ability that might help: All Heroes in play cannot be targeted by abilities on opponent's Heroes or by abilities on enhancement's used by opponent's Heroes.

The most common application of this is that it stops opponent's Heroes from banding to other Heroes in play. It would also stop territory exchanges and placed enhancements that are placed on Heroes if the placed enhancement is used by one of opponent's Heroes.

Offline redemption collector 777

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 757
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #2 on: August 14, 2018, 02:41:32 PM »
0
Here's a different way of wording the ability that might help: All Heroes in play cannot be targeted by abilities on opponent's Heroes or by abilities on enhancement's used by opponent's Heroes.

The most common application of this is that it stops opponent's Heroes from banding to other Heroes in play. It would also stop territory exchanges and placed enhancements that are placed on Heroes if the placed enhancement is used by one of opponent's Heroes.


I heard somewhere that this ability also would not allow their own heroes to band to their other own heroes , plus exchanging , placing enhancements etc.

Is this also what this ability would mean??   

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11498
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #3 on: August 14, 2018, 02:43:03 PM »
0
Yes.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1424
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #4 on: August 14, 2018, 02:43:37 PM »
0
Tangential question that has more to do about game rule:

I know that negates go through protect. Do modifiers (CBX) as well?

For example, my opponent has an occupied City of Enoch. I play Pharaoh's Daughter as a hero - she then grants my Exodus heroes CBP. Does this go through the protect, or are the heroes protected from her?
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 11498
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #5 on: August 14, 2018, 02:47:05 PM »
0
I'm not 100% certain, but I think it would go through because modifiers target (modify) abilities, not cards, (similar to negate).
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #6 on: August 14, 2018, 02:50:53 PM »
0
I'm not 100% certain, but I think it would go through because modifiers target (modify) abilities, not cards, (similar to negate).

This is my understanding as well. I don't see anything in the protect entry that would stop modifiers from modifying the abilities of a card, protected or not.

Offline dstair2002

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 71
    • Southeast Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #7 on: August 28, 2018, 09:04:11 AM »
0
This really has to do with your opponent's using a card to make 2 heroes fight a battle and one being killed or both but since they are protected they wouldnt die

Offline TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
  • Don't worry. Koalas are still cool.
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #8 on: August 28, 2018, 11:11:06 AM »
0
As long as your opponent owns the Hero they control in the side battle, then yes, that Hero would be protected from your Hero if you had City of Enoch. However even if you use a Hero your opponent owns, the Hero you control in the side battle will not be protected by CoE because it is not "opponent's" Hero.
Fortress Alstad

Offline dstair2002

  • New Member
  • *
  • Posts: 71
    • Southeast Region
Re: City of Enoch questions
« Reply #9 on: August 28, 2018, 01:37:58 PM »
0
correct