Author Topic: Can Characters be protected from themselves??  (Read 233 times)

Offline redemption collector 777

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 756
    • -
    • North Central Region
Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« on: September 26, 2018, 06:08:07 PM »
0
Elymas the Sorcerer SA: Protect Evil characters from discard and convert abilities. CBI  (other part does not matter)


Second bowl of Wrath SA EE: Discard all cards in battle.




Example:

Elymas (blocking player) in battle against a hero.  Blocking player plays Second bowl and attempts to discard all cards in battle.


1. Can characters be protected from themselves??

2. In the example would Elymas get discarded by the evil enhancement??


Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1673
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Characters being protected from themselves??
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2018, 06:09:30 PM »
0
It's been ruled that you cannot be protected from yourself.  The protect ability is referring to being protected from what your opponent's cards can do to you.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Characters being protected from themselves??
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2018, 06:18:36 PM »
0
It's been ruled that you cannot be protected from yourself.  The protect ability is referring to being protected from what your opponent's cards can do to you.

I know it has been ruled a card cannot be protected from it's own ability but I see no reason that extends to enhancements used by the protected card. I thought this was written in the REG but I don't even see the clause about cards not being protected from themselves under the protect entry so I'm not sure where it's at.

Online RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2775
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2018, 06:28:44 PM »
0
The rule was "characters cannot be not protected from themselves", but that was removed in REG 5.0.

Since Elymas provides general protection (and not specific to opponent's or good cards), he would not be discarded by Second Bowl or Wrath.


Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2018, 06:47:18 PM »
0
The rule was "characters cannot be not protected from themselves", but that was removed in REG 5.0.

Was it only removed from the REG or was the actual rule removed from the game? Can enhancements be protected from themselves now?

Offline Asahel24601

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 594
  • #MakeRedGreatAgain
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« Reply #5 on: September 26, 2018, 07:00:35 PM »
0
The rule was "characters cannot be not protected from themselves", but that was removed in REG 5.0.

Since Elymas provides general protection (and not specific to opponent's or good cards), he would not be discarded by Second Bowl or Wrath.

So by extension, as the LR Death of Unrighteous states that the ability is "Shuffle all Lost Souls and Sites in Land of Bondage. Discard all evil characters in battle.", Elymas could play it without dying...

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 9886
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« Reply #6 on: September 26, 2018, 07:32:14 PM »
0
IIRC the rule was created to stifle a combo with ANB. It was no longer needed so it was eliminated and removed from the REG.

When it was in place it did include enhancements used by characters and they are considered an extension of the character using them.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1573
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« Reply #7 on: September 26, 2018, 07:34:04 PM »
0
IIRC the rule was created to stifle a combo with ANB.

I thought it was to prevent the Arrest combo. I guess it's time to dust my sites off...

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 9886
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Can Characters be protected from themselves??
« Reply #8 on: September 26, 2018, 07:37:24 PM »
0
It never stopped the Arrest combo. That is what got us to re-evaluate it and realize it wasn’t necessary.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?