Author Topic: Can placed Kinsmen's Agreements used against each other? Don't think so ...  (Read 165 times)

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 583
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Hi again,

as topic says one KA has been placed with good alignment - opponent placed it's one with evil alignment.

KA: "Place in territory: You may discard this card to negate and discard the last Enhancement of opposite alignment played or an Enhancement of opposite alignment in play."

In battle evil aligned KA is used to negate an enhancement placed in battle.
Question now is:  Can attacking opponent now use own KA in order to negate KA used by defender?

My understanding would be: No - since evil aligned KA had to be discarded in order to get activated and KA states "... last Enhancement .. played" resp. "... in play" and evil aligned KA already left play.

Am I right here or can good aligned KA still negate currently used evil aligned KA even if it already left play?

Thanks in advance for your help!

Bye

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1458
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
0
Any card that targets "last played" can target ones that have already left play, so long as they're still the last played (i.e. a good Kinsmen's could stop something like Death of Unrighteous that a normal negate or even Woes couldn't). I seem to recall that placed enhancements like KA are considered "played" both when placed and when used, so by my understanding it would be legal to negate an evil KA with a good one after it's been used.
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1598
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
0
I'm not aware that activated a card's ability that's already on the table counts as playing it. If it does count as played it can be targeted, if it doesn't then it can't.

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 583
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
0
So what's the regulation?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2796
    • -
    • South Central Region
0
Enhancements are played when they are used by characters, so Kinsmen's Agreement is played when placed, not when discarded.

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 583
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
0
Enhancements are played when they are used by characters, so Kinsmen's Agreement is played when placed, not when discarded.

That's right, but KA states:
last Enhancement of opposite alignment played or an Enhancement of opposite alignment in play

For the 2nd part question is whether it can be applied to a just discarded KA of opponent and opposite alignment? My assumption would be: No

Is this correct?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Redemption Elder
  • *****
  • Posts: 2796
    • -
    • South Central Region
+1
Correct.

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 583
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
0
Thanx for clarification!