Author Topic: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses  (Read 293 times)

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« on: April 16, 2019, 08:47:44 AM »
0
1.  I have CoW moses in territory, I block with soothsayers from hand, when he returns to territory, what is negated?

2.  If soothsayers is discarded without being negated and my opponent didn't set aside cards, does the restrict still work?

3.  If my opponent has no good brigades in play soothsayers, can they set aside 0 cards or do they just get restricted since they cant set anything aside

Bab soothsayers:...name a card.  each player may set aside x (X=their good brigades) cards from hand until this card leaves play.  restrict those that don't from playing the named card from hand

Offline Ironisaac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Awake from the grave
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2019, 09:24:57 AM »
0
1. Soothsayers is negated, he has an ongoing ability which is negated by moses.
2. See guardian's response below
3. I'd argue that they could set aside 0 cards and not be restricted, but I can't say that's certainly the case. My thinking behind this is the "0 card hand still is a hand" ruling. If x=0, then you should be bale to set aside 0 cards.
« Last Edit: April 16, 2019, 09:41:13 AM by Ironisaac »
Some call me "Goofus"

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12167
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2019, 09:37:57 AM »
0
Quote
2. His ability will still be active until the next phase, but he is then out of play and the ability no longer works.

I believe I agree with 1 & 3, but the rules of Territory class characters are that they immediately stop working once they leave play, so I think Isaac's reply to #2 to be incorrect.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Ironisaac

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1619
  • Awake from the grave
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #3 on: April 16, 2019, 09:40:49 AM »
0
Quote
2. His ability will still be active until the next phase, but he is then out of play and the ability no longer works.

I believe I agree with 1 & 3, but the rules of Territory class characters are that they immediately stop working once they leave play, so I think Isaac's reply to #2 to be incorrect.

Good to know, I thought they worked like other abilities active in territory.
Some call me "Goofus"

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #4 on: April 16, 2019, 09:45:25 AM »
0
i thought it was with serpent, who has a similar ability, is that the restrict could be negated but the paralyze was CBN since it was in a past phase.  and also that if he left play his restrict stayed in play.  is soothsayers different?

Offline goalieking87

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 410
    • East Central Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #5 on: April 16, 2019, 10:10:03 AM »
+1
i thought it was with serpent, who has a similar ability, is that the restrict could be negated but the paralyze was CBN since it was in a past phase.  and also that if he left play his restrict stayed in play.  is soothsayers different?

The Serpent is not territory class, and that is where the difference is.

From the REG under territory class character (glossary), it states
Quote
Territory class character abilities that are active outside of battle are active while the character remains in the territory.

Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #6 on: April 16, 2019, 10:12:57 AM »
0
makes sense thanks

Offline Cnakeeyes

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 320
    • -
    • Northeast Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #7 on: April 16, 2019, 11:25:58 AM »
0
i thought it was with serpent, who has a similar ability, is that the restrict could be negated but the paralyze was CBN since it was in a past phase.  and also that if he left play his restrict stayed in play.  is soothsayers different?

The Serpent is not territory class, and that is where the difference is.

From the REG under territory class character (glossary), it states
Quote
Territory class character abilities that are active outside of battle are active while the character remains in the territory.


If I block with serpent and it dies does the restrict stay? In our area we have always played that it doesn't because serpent is not there to uphold its ability.

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12167
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #8 on: April 16, 2019, 12:44:42 PM »
0
Yes the restrict stays. The restrict is not dependent on The Serpent being in play, it's dependent on the Hero remaining paralyzed.
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline RedemptionAggie

  • Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2957
    • -
    • South Central Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #9 on: April 16, 2019, 01:18:19 PM »
0
For 1, since everything ties back to naming the card, and you don't name a card when he returns to territory from battle, there's nothing activating for Moses to prevent. So the restrict stays.

I do agree with Isaac and Guardian on 2 and 3.


Offline sepjazzwarrior

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2079
  • The best defense is a fast offense
    • -
    • Midwest Region
Re: Bab Soothsayers and CoW Moses
« Reply #10 on: May 07, 2019, 02:12:17 PM »
0
So I feel like I got 2 different answers on this, what happens to bab soothsayers once it returns to territory?