Author Topic: Are abilities which provide "CBx" are inherently "CBx" themselves?  (Read 145 times)

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 735
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Hi again,

just wondering about that topic. IIRC I read somewhere sometime ago that this is the case but could not find anything about it - neither in Reg, nor in Rules nor here on the boards.

For example if opponent has Gates of Jerusalem out and I would negate it using 3 Woes - will the following part also be negated then:
"its special ability cannot be negated"?

I would say yes since Gates isn't CBN/CBI itself. But what's the official ruling here?

Gates of Jerusalm: Protect evil Kings and Queens of Judah in your territory from opponent's cards. If one blocks, its special ability cannot be negated and you may draw a card.

Thanks for your clarification!

Bye

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • 2018 T1-2P Nationals Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 5224
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Are abilities which provide "CBx" are inherently "CBx" themselves?
« Reply #1 on: April 12, 2019, 02:03:17 AM »
+1
Quote
Modifiers
A modifier is part of a special ability that modifies abilities or effects. Modifiers are not
themselves abilities, but alter the behavior of abilities or effects. Whether a modifier targets an
ability or effect depends on the type of modifier. If a modifier is granted to abilities or effects on
other cards, the modifier persists through the end of the current phase by default. Since modifiers
are not abilities, they cannot be targeted by interrupt, prevent or negate effects.

If a modifier targets an ability, it modifies all parts of the ability unless some types of abilities
are specified to gain or not gain the modifier. If a modifier targets (or specifically doesn’t target)
a type of ability (“X abilities”), then it does not modify any other effects an ability might have. A
modifier that targets “discard abilities” would modify the discard effect of an ability with “negate
and discard” effects, but does not modify the negate effect. If the modifier targets the ability,
then all parts except the negate effect would be modified. If the modifier only targets the discard
effect, then only the discard effect is modified.
A modifier may have one or more conditions included as part of the modifier.

The bold, italicized portion of the modifiers entry describes why "Cannot be Negated" modifiers are themselves CBN
Don't sacrifice the permanent on the altar of the immediate

Offline The Guardian

  • Playtester, Redemption Elder
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 12170
  • The Stars are coming out...
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Are abilities which provide "CBx" are inherently "CBx" themselves?
« Reply #2 on: April 12, 2019, 02:03:29 AM »
+1
"CBx" are modifiers, (not abilities), so they cannot be negated because negate only targets abilities.

If you played 3 Woes and targeted Gates of Jerusalem, it would negate the protection ability and the draw ability, but not the CBN modifier.

RDT beat me by 12 seconds...
Fortress Alstad
Have you checked the REG?
Have you looked it up in ORCID?

Offline Reth

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 735
    • LFG
    • East Central Region
Re: Are abilities which provide "CBx" are inherently "CBx" themselves?
« Reply #3 on: April 12, 2019, 08:21:22 AM »
0
Thanks guys!