Author Topic: Am I "Dual Icon"?  (Read 319 times)

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10247
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Am I "Dual Icon"?
« on: May 07, 2019, 08:23:27 PM »
0
We've only used "dual icon" one time, on Covenant of Eden. When defining it for REG 6.0 we realized people might have different expectations of what classifies as "dual icon". Obviously any dual alignment card qualifies. But what about cards like these that are not dual alignment at face value?

Spoiler (hover to show)

Spoiler (hover to show)

Spoiler (hover to show)

Spoiler (hover to show)

Spoiler (hover to show)
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2003
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #1 on: May 07, 2019, 08:30:50 PM »
0
Though they’re initially played as one kind of ALIGNMENT, then may convert to the other alignment later, they are still dual-icon cards because they have two icons on them.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #2 on: May 07, 2019, 08:48:33 PM »
0
If that's the case, does it retroactively apply to the original Namaan? Same ability, but only one icon.
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Mr.Hiatus

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1640
  • Play Type 2
    • -
    • Southeast Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #3 on: May 07, 2019, 08:50:27 PM »
0
My only confusion was for deck building purposes, I'm sure that portion will be clearly defined in the new REG.
Make America Play Type 2 Again.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2003
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #4 on: May 07, 2019, 09:11:22 PM »
0
My only confusion was for deck building purposes, I'm sure that portion will be clearly defined in the new REG.

For deck building it defaults to at face value in terms of alignment. If it’s the ones he cited (Roman Jailer, ninevites, etc), then they’re treated as ECs (unless of course this changes in the updated REG).

As for the old Naaman he wouldn’t qualify as dual icon since his card only has one icon (the Legacy Rare version of him fixed that issue though).
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #5 on: May 07, 2019, 09:41:16 PM »
+2
My point is, if we say that LR Namaan is dual icon and the old one is not, then they're effectively different cards, which is against the spirit of LRs.
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Watchman

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 2003
  • Your Turn Games Owner
    • -
    • Southeast Region
    • Your Turn Games
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #6 on: May 07, 2019, 10:25:48 PM »
0
My point is, if we say that LR Namaan is dual icon and the old one is not, then they're effectively different cards, which is against the spirit of LRs.

But the LR Daniel has the Cloud icon, which makes it a different card than the promo. The LRs update cards to the current wording and card design. If Naaman was made now instead of FoOF then he would be like The Roman Jailer’s design.
Purchase Prophecies of Christ today!

Offline Bobbert

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1620
  • The player formerly known as Thomas Hunter
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #7 on: May 07, 2019, 10:45:51 PM »
0
But the LR Daniel has the Cloud icon, which makes it a different card than the promo.


...no it doesn't, unless that's changed since the reveal.
The longer everything goes to plan, the bigger the impending disaster.

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1762
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #8 on: May 07, 2019, 10:59:08 PM »
0
I'm completely fine with errata updating cards that are being chosen as LRs (Like making Naaman a DAC or putting Cloud on old Heroes) but it needs to be exactly that: errata that applies to all versions of the card. LRs shouldn't be functionally different in any way from their plain versions.

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 10247
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #9 on: May 07, 2019, 11:11:04 PM »
0
LRs shouldn't be functionally different in any way from their plain versions.

That was our idealistic goal when LRs started out but that ship sailed with Spy and Sabbath Breaker, which we didn't realize until it was too late. We did the same again with Assyrian Archer this year, intentionally this time. We also decided to give the Daniel LR a subtitle and cloud icon (like the other 3 major prophets in PoC). Our original goals were set in part because LRs were originally envisioned to be as rare or rarer than URs, but that's not how they ended up. We've decided that since they're easily available and have been moved the common slot this year, that we're OK with minor differences.

But this discussion has diverged quite a bit from the original topic and is probably best dedicated to its own thread.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?

Offline kram1138

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 431
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #10 on: May 08, 2019, 09:23:49 AM »
0
Instead of errataing a bunch of cards so it matches some definition wouldn't it make more sense to clarify the definition in the one place it's used? Something like "cards of different alignment at face value" then you just need one errata which can be changed for the combined phase. I'm not sure if this definition is better, but I'm sure we could come up with something that is.
postCount.Add(1);

Offline Sean

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3637
    • -
    • East Central Region
Re: Am I "Dual Icon"?
« Reply #11 on: May 08, 2019, 09:36:15 PM »
0
Though they’re initially played as one kind of ALIGNMENT, then may convert to the other alignment later, they are still dual-icon cards because they have two icons on them.
I agree with this.  Any card that has more than one icon should be considered dual icon.  Dual Icon and Dual Alignment are not the same. (Withered Plant is dual icon but not dual alignment)

« Last Edit: May 08, 2019, 09:40:59 PM by Sean »
May you prosper greatly!
Daniel 4:1b