Cactus Game Design Message Boards

Redemption® Card Game => Redemption® Official Rules & Errata => Ruling Questions => Topic started by: Reth on January 09, 2019, 06:59:16 PM

Title: After protect opponent ignores - does this work?
Post by: Reth on January 09, 2019, 06:59:16 PM
Hello,

following scenario: Before rescue attempt Temple Dedication is played in territory. Afterwards RA starts with Chenaniah banding to Miriam (PoC).
During battle opponent plays Serpent's Curse on a blocking animal. Question is: What happens now? Are the rescuer protected from the ignore ability? I would say no since the ignore does not target the rescuer so no need for protection.

But how does this battle resolve? I would say: If the ignore of the defender cannot be negated defender wins the battle regardless of the protection provided to the rescuers. Is this understanding correct?

Temple Dedication: Search deck for Solomon's Temple or a Temple Artifact. You may remove this from the game to protect your Solomon's Temple Priests and musicians from evil cards this turn.

Thanks in advance for clarification!

Bye
Title: Re: After protect opponent ignores - does this work?
Post by: goalieking87 on January 09, 2019, 07:31:13 PM
Serpents Curse would not work as it would be trying to target a card that is protected.

Under Protect in the REG: A card that is immune to or protected from cards cannot be targeted by the strength or an ability on a card to which it is immune to or protected from, nor on an Enhancement used by that card (if a character).
Title: Re: After protect opponent ignores - does this work?
Post by: The Guardian on January 09, 2019, 07:36:43 PM
In the given scenario, animals would be ignoring all Heroes except Solomon's Temple Priests and musicians.
Title: Re: After protect opponent ignores - does this work?
Post by: goalieking87 on January 09, 2019, 10:58:49 PM
In the given scenario, animals would be ignoring all Heroes except Solomon's Temple Priests and musicians.

Good clarification
Title: Re: After protect opponent ignores - does this work?
Post by: Reth on January 10, 2019, 01:21:31 AM
Thanks guys! The REG-Entry I also read but was unsure whether an ignore is also an effect which is targeting something (even though it is mentioned in explanation of parts (2) to (4) within REG).