Author Topic: 3Woes  (Read 246 times)

Offline Crashfach2002

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 2370
    • -
    • East Central Region
3Woes
« on: July 14, 2018, 12:38:22 AM »
0
Place in territory: Negate a card of a different alignment than this card for one round.  Each upkeep, you may negate a card of a different alignment than this card for one round.

Question 1:  if during your upkeep you don't choose a target, are we ruling it that you missed the may and don't target anything, or do you keep the same thing you negated last time.

Question 2:  During a multi game, Woes is played during someone else's turn Woes is played.  Then the player who has Woes gets to choose a new target.  So Woes gets two targets for a "round" at least until that original player's turn comes back around.  Right?

Offline Red Dragon Thorn

  • 2018 T1-2P Nationals Champion
  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 4992
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: 3Woes
« Reply #1 on: July 14, 2018, 12:43:18 AM »
0
1) Technically speaking you missed the trigger and nothing is negated. Realistically, outside of whatever you define "high level tournament play" to be it's the last card targeted

2) Rounds are always counted at the controllers upkeep, so Woes will only have one target
Don't sacrifice the permanent on the altar of the immediate

Online TheJaylor

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2671
  • Don't worry. Koalas are still cool.
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: 3Woes
« Reply #2 on: July 14, 2018, 02:37:40 PM »
0
For #2, if you can shuffle it and draw it, pick it up, or otherwise reset it to your hand and play it again then can it have two targets? I think it was determined that it can't be "targeting" two cards at the same time but since it clarifies "for one round" then I'm not entirely sure why it wouldn't continue negating whatever it targeted each time it is played during the round.
Fortress Alstad

Offline Kevinthedude

  • Tournament Host
  • *****
  • Posts: 1493
  • Yo
    • -
    • North Central Region
Re: 3Woes
« Reply #3 on: July 14, 2018, 07:38:17 PM »
0
For #2, if you can shuffle it and draw it, pick it up, or otherwise reset it to your hand and play it again then can it have two targets? I think it was determined that it can't be "targeting" two cards at the same time but since it clarifies "for one round" then I'm not entirely sure why it wouldn't continue negating whatever it targeted each time it is played during the round.

Yes you can negate two things at once theoretically. Once it negates something for a round, that thing is negated for a round regardless of what happens to 3Woes (Unless it could be negated, which it can't).

Whoops, see Gabe's answer.
« Last Edit: July 15, 2018, 09:27:23 AM by Kevinthedude »

Offline Gabe

  • Global Moderator
  • *****
  • Posts: 9702
  • From Moses to the prophets, it's all about Him!
    • -
    • North Central Region
    • Land of Redemption
Re: 3Woes
« Reply #4 on: July 15, 2018, 08:25:40 AM »
0
The negate portion of 3W is dependent upon it being placed in your territory. If it ceases to be placed it ceases to negate.
Have you visited the Land of Redemption today?